# Vora Aegis

> A local AI appliance you own: an assistant called a Guardian builds an encrypted database of your digital life on the device and runs open models on it. Announced for Spring 2027; reservations only.

- **Maker:** Vora
- **Catalogue type:** Local-first app
- **Website:** https://vora.io
- **Source code:** unknown — no public repository recorded
- **Also known as:** Vora, Aegis, Guardian
- **Evidence:** 5 sources, checked 2026-10-22 to 2026-10-22
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/vora/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/vora.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Reservation · some regions | documented | 1, 3, 5 |
| Price & usage costs | US$2,499 device | documented | 2, 3, 5 |
| Included in another plan | One-time purchase; no subscription required | documented | 2, 3 |
| Where it runs | Your own appliance | documented | 2, 3 |
| Open source & license | Open source stated; no repository linked | limited | 2, 3 |
| Controls your computer | No | documented | 1, 3 |
| Its own computer | Own hardware · no remote view | documented | 2, 3 |
| Works while your computer is off | Keeps working | limited | 2, 3 |
| If the vendor stops | Keeps working | documented | 2, 3 |
| Remote shut-off | Not possible | documented | 2, 3 |
| What you keep | Self-serve | documented | 2, 3 |
| Company type | Startup | documented | 4 |
| Launch date | unknown | unknown | — |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Startup [4]
- **Company stage** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Disclosed funding** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Launch date** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

**Launch history**

unknown — no dated launch event is recorded.

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — A desktop appliance you own that runs open models on-device, split so the layer holding your data has no unrestricted internet access and the internet-facing layer holds no private data [1, 2]
- **Computer use** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Acts from its own appliance through connected accounts and a secure browser; it does not control your Mac or PC, and no remote interface onto the device's own screen is described [1, 3]
- **Controls your computer** `documented` — Nothing runs on your Mac or PC. The Aegis appliance is a separate machine that does the work itself. [1, 3]
- **Its own computer** `documented` — The Aegis appliance is the agent's computer and it has no screen or keyboard; you reach it through the phone and web apps rather than viewing its desktop. [2, 3]
- **Works while your computer is off** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — The appliance does the work and stays on by itself; your phone pairs with it and is not what runs the models. [2, 3]
- **Browser control** `documented` — A secure browser runs errands on the internet from the internet-facing layer, which holds no private data [1, 2]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `documented` — No ambient listening by design; the company contrasts Aegis with always-on speakers and says you talk to it through the app when you choose. A voice interface is not described [3]
- **Background work & triggers** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Runs errands sent out to the internet and keeps a current brief in the app; scheduled or event-triggered routines are not specified [3]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — No native desktop app is described; deeper work such as connecting accounts happens in the web app from a laptop [3]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — A phone app pairs the device and handles quick questions and notifications; iPhone and Android availability is not separately specified, and full phone-desktop parity is described as growing after launch [3]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — A phone app and a web app. The device itself has no screen or keyboard [3]
- **Messaging services** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Native hardware** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — A compact desktop appliance, 225mm x 185mm x 50mm and 2.2 lbs, with an AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 64GB unified memory, a 1TB SSD expandable through two M.2 sockets, and the Harpē security module. The device is required: it is the product. Announced to ship Spring 2027, and the site states its images are renders of the production enclosure [1, 2, 3]
- **Developer API** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — Ships running Gemma 4 26B entirely on the device; the specifications cite over 100 tokens per second for open models of that size, naming Qwen 3.6 35B and Ornith 1.5 35B [2, 3]
- **Bring your own model** `documented` — The model is the owner's to choose and can be replaced with newer open models as they are released [3]
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Bought outright; the company states the machine runs the full experience with no subscription, and all three optional plans are future development that will not be available at launch [2, 3]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — US$2,499 Super Early Bird reservation with a US$50 refundable deposit; a published ladder runs to US$2,799 Early Bird and US$2,999 retail. Optional post-launch plans are US$20/month Guardian Care, US$20/month Aegis Pro and US$100/month Aegis Pro+ [2, 3, 5]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `documented` — The company states the appliance keeps working without its servers, needs no subscription, and cannot be switched off by an activation server. [2, 3]
- **Remote shut-off** `documented` — No activation server can disable it; the owner holds the keys and the machine runs without Vora. [2, 3]
- **What you keep** `documented` — Everything exports in open formats at any time, with no lock-in or exit fee described. [2, 3]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — The specifications state open source top to bottom, and the company says updates are checked against published source; no public repository is linked from the site, so the code could not be inspected [2, 3]
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Runs on the owner's appliance on EnclaveOS, a hardened security-first operating system. Account data flows from the provider straight to the device rather than through a Vora server. Optional frontier-model credits would send only approved content off-device, and are not available at launch [2, 3]
- **Passwords & credentials** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Sign-in keys for connected accounts are held on the device, and the Harpē security module holds the encryption keys plus a hardware wallet for payments; a general-purpose password manager is not described [2, 3]
- **Approval before actions** `documented` — Anything consequential is drafted and waits for approval before it is sent; NFC tap-to-verify provides multi-signature confirmation of sensitive data and of payments above a threshold the owner sets [2, 3]
- **What it remembers** `documented` — One encrypted database on the device holds mail, messages, photos, calendar, files, financial and health accounts; conversation history imports from ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini. One owner per device, with household modes not yet offered [1, 3]
- **Edit & export your data** `documented` — Everything exports in open formats at any time, and connected data can be deleted from Settings; the company states there is no lock-in and the device keeps working without its servers [2, 3]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Harpē, a hardware security module with dual secure elements, holds keys locally; the split-agent design is presented as structural protection against prompt-injection exfiltration. No training on customer data, signed updates verified against published source with automatic rollback, and a recovery phrase the company states it cannot recover [2, 3]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Not yet available. Reservations only: the US$50 Super Early Bird deposit holds one of 200 units, refundable until the unit ships. Aegis is stated to ship Spring 2027, launching in the United States, Canada and the European Union [1, 3, 5]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Aegis Super Early Bird | US$2,499 | One-time purchase; US$50 refundable deposit to reserve | Vora Aegis appliance, owned outright; AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 64GB unified memory, 1TB SSD; Harpē hardware security module with dual secure elements; Two-year hardware warranty, not tied to any subscription | One of 200 units at this tier; Founders at US$1,999 is sold out; Ladder continues at US$2,799 Early Bird and US$2,999 retail; Ships Spring 2027; deposit refundable until the unit ships | 2, 3, 5 |
| Guardian Care | US$20/month | Optional subscription; not available at launch | Complete off-site encrypted backup under keys only the owner holds; Restores a replacement device after loss or hardware failure | Future development; the company states it is not available at launch; Recovery phrase is the only key and cannot be recovered by Vora | 2, 3 |
| Aegis Pro | US$20/month | Optional subscription; not available at launch | Monthly allotment of frontier cloud-model credits for heavier work | Future development; the company states it is not available at launch; Only content approved for a task leaves the device | 2, 3 |
| Aegis Pro+ | US$100/month | Optional subscription; not available at launch | Larger allotment of frontier cloud-model credits; Guardian Care included | Future development; the company states it is not available at launch | 2, 3 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Coming soon | A web app is described for connecting accounts and managing settings; it ships with the device in Spring 2027 | 3 |
| Mobile app | Coming soon | A phone app pairs the device and handles quick questions and notifications; iPhone and Android are not separately specified, and it ships with the device in Spring 2027 | 3 |

## Messaging services

unknown — no messaging service is recorded for this agent.

## Hardware

`announced` Announced, not shipping — **Vora Aegis**: A compact desktop appliance, 225mm x 185mm x 50mm and 2.2 lbs, with an AMD Ryzen AI Max+ 395, Radeon 8060S, 64GB unified memory, a 1TB SSD expandable through two M.2 sockets, and the Harpē security module. The device is required: it is the product. Announced to ship Spring 2027, and the site states its images are renders of the production enclosure [1, 2, 3]

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** unknown — no update source has been recorded for this agent.

No dated catalogue updates mention this agent yet.

## Sources

1. [Vora Aegis official website](https://vora.io/) — checked 2026-10-22
2. [Vora Aegis technical specifications](https://vora.io/technical-specifications/) — checked 2026-10-22
3. [Vora Aegis frequently asked questions](https://vora.io/faq/) — checked 2026-10-22
4. [About Vora: team and principles](https://vora.io/about/) — checked 2026-10-22
5. [Vora Aegis Reservation, $2,499 Super Early Bird](https://shop.vora.io/products/vora-aegis-vip-deposit) — checked 2026-10-22
