# Underdog

> An on-device assistant for email, calendars, notes, dictation, and errands, with locally stored memory.

- **Maker:** Conway Research
- **Catalogue type:** Local-first app
- **Website:** https://underdog.ai
- **Source code:** unknown — no public repository recorded
- **Also known as:** unknown — no other names recorded
- **Evidence:** 6 sources, checked 2026-10-21 to 2026-10-21
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/underdog/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/underdog.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available · invite | documented | 1 |
| Price & usage costs | Free | documented | 3 |
| Included in another plan | Free standalone app | documented | 3 |
| Where it runs | On your device | documented | 1, 2 |
| Open source & license | App license unverified; some model weights Apache-2.0 | limited | 5 |
| Controls your computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Its own computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Works while your computer is off | Stops | limited | 1, 2 |
| If the vendor stops | Partly | limited | 1, 2 |
| Remote shut-off | unknown | unknown | — |
| What you keep | Partial | limited | 1 |
| Company type | Startup | documented | 6 |
| Launch date | unknown | unknown | — |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Startup [6]
- **Company stage** `documented` — First funding round [6]
- **Disclosed funding** `documented` — Undisclosed · First round · Oct 2, 2026 · Led by a16z [6]
- **Launch date** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

**Launch history**

unknown — no dated launch event is recorded.

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Local model inference, mail, memory and audio processing; optional Naval mode restricts network contact [1, 2]
- **Computer use** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — On-device AI and a browser agent; general desktop control is not specified [1, 2]
- **Controls your computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Its own computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Works while your computer is off** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — AI inference runs on the user's own device, so nothing runs while that device is off. [1, 2]
- **Browser control** `documented` — Local browser agent handles bookings and purchases, with approval before consequential actions [2]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `documented` — Local dictation and meeting notes; audio is not uploaded [2]
- **Background work & triggers** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Automatic email categorization; recurring job scheduler unverified [4]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `documented` — macOS on Apple silicon; Windows beta; Linux announced [1]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `documented` — iPhone and iPad on iOS 18+; Android announced [1]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Mac, iPhone/iPad, Windows beta [1]
- **Messaging services** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Native hardware** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Developer API** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — Woof 4B, Underdog 27B, Saluki 27B [1]
- **Bring your own model** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Ships its own local models; importing other models or inference keys is not specified [1]
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Free standalone app [3]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — Free; revenue comes from purchases it facilitates [3]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Inference runs on the user's own device, so the local app may keep working, though the app licence and update path are unverified. [1, 2]
- **Remote shut-off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What you keep** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Memory is held locally, but a portable agent-state export is unverified. [1]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — App license unverified; some model weights Apache-2.0 [5]
- **Where it runs** `documented` — AI inference runs on the user's device; mail connects directly to the user's provider [1, 2]
- **Passwords & credentials** `documented` — Built-in encrypted saved logins on Mac; agent fills passwords without reading them [2]
- **Approval before actions** `documented` — Browser agent asks before buying, paying, sending or deleting [2]
- **What it remembers** `documented` — Local memories can be viewed, edited, and deleted [1]
- **Edit & export your data** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Local memory; portable agent-state export unverified [1]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Mac mail, calendar and saved logins are encrypted; key stays in Apple Keychain on the device [2]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Mac invite access; iOS available without invite; Windows beta [1]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Underdog | US$0 | Free | Local processing on your computer; No seat or inference subscription | Your computer supplies the compute; Underdog earns a share from purchases it facilitates | 3 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| macOS | Available | macOS on Apple silicon; Windows beta; Linux announced | 1 |
| Windows | Beta | macOS on Apple silicon; Windows beta; Linux announced | 1 |
| Linux | Coming soon | macOS on Apple silicon; Windows beta; Linux announced | 1 |
| iOS | Available | iPhone and iPad on iOS 18+; Android announced | 1 |
| iPadOS | Available | iPhone and iPad on iOS 18+; Android announced | 1 |
| Android | Coming soon | iPhone and iPad on iOS 18+; Android announced | 1 |

## Messaging services

unknown — no messaging service is recorded for this agent.

## Hardware

`unknown` — no dedicated hardware is established by the reviewed sources.

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** unknown — no update source has been recorded for this agent.

- 2026-10-15 · Release · [Underdog adds a Windows beta](https://underdog.ai/ship) — The official release log announces Windows availability for its local personal assistant.
- 2026-10-13 · Release · [Underdog adds purchases through Link](https://underdog.ai/ship) — Version 1.4.1 introduces purchases using a one-time Link card approved by the user.

## Sources

1. [Underdog official product site](https://underdog.ai/) — checked 2026-10-21
2. [Underdog security](https://underdog.ai/security) — checked 2026-10-21
3. [Underdog pricing](https://underdog.ai/pricing) — checked 2026-10-21
4. [Underdog release log](https://underdog.ai/ship) — checked 2026-10-21
5. [Conway Research Underdog-27B-1.0 model repository](https://huggingface.co/ConwayResearch/Underdog-27B-1.0) — checked 2026-10-21
6. [Andreessen Horowitz leads Conway Research’s first funding round](https://a16z.com/announcement/investing-in-conway-the-creator-of-underdog/) — checked 2026-10-21
