# Simular

> A computer-use agent that operates real desktops by seeing the screen, clicking and typing, on your own machine or on a cloud computer you keep.

- **Maker:** Simular Inc.
- **Catalogue type:** Local-first app
- **Website:** https://www.simular.ai
- **Source code:** https://github.com/simular-ai
- **Also known as:** Sai, Agent S
- **Evidence:** 8 sources, checked 2026-10-22 to 2026-10-22
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/simular/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/simular.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Waitlist | documented | 4 |
| Price & usage costs | US$50–500/mo | documented | 4 |
| Included in another plan | Standalone Simular subscription | documented | 4 |
| Where it runs | Your machine or its cloud | documented | 3 |
| Open source & license | Agent S Apache-2.0 | limited | 8 |
| Controls your computer | Yes · Mac, Windows | documented | 3 |
| Its own computer | Cloud · Watch and take over | documented | 2, 3 |
| Works while your computer is off | Keeps working | limited | 2, 4 |
| If the vendor stops | Stops | limited | 4, 8 |
| Remote shut-off | unknown | unknown | — |
| What you keep | On request | documented | 6 |
| Company type | Startup | documented | 5 |
| Launch date | Sep 16, 2026 | documented | 7 |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Startup [5]
- **Company stage** `documented` — Series A [5]
- **Disclosed funding** `documented` — US$21.5M · Series A · Dec 2, 2025 [5]
- **Launch date** `documented` — Sep 16, 2026 · Public launch · Sai generally available [7]

**Launch history**

- 2026-09-16 · Public launch · Sai generally available [7]

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Operates a real desktop the way a person does, on your own machine or on a cloud computer that keeps your logins, setup and context between sessions [2, 3]
- **Computer use** `documented` — Full desktop control of either the user's own Mac or Windows machine or a Simular-hosted cloud desktop, driving native applications without APIs [2, 3]
- **Controls your computer** `documented` — Drives the user's own Mac or Windows desktop, operating native applications directly. [3]
- **Its own computer** `documented` — An always-on hosted Windows or Mac desktop the user can also watch and take over. [2, 3]
- **Works while your computer is off** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — The hosted always-on computer keeps running independently of the user's own machine, on the tiers that include one. [2, 4]
- **Browser control** `documented` — Drives the browser as one of the desktop applications it operates [3]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Background work & triggers** `documented` — Saved workflows rerun nightly, weekly or on a trigger [3]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `documented` — Native macOS app for Apple Silicon and a Windows desktop app [3]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — No official mobile app; an Android companion exists in the project's repositories [8]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Desktop apps, with notifications and approvals through messaging [2, 3]
- **Messaging services** `documented` — iMessage, SMS, Telegram [2]
- **Native hardware** `documented` — A Mac mini can be used as a dedicated machine for the agent, but no hardware is required; the cloud desktop needs none. [3]
- **Developer API** `documented` — A public REST API, with full access gated to the top tier, plus an MCP server [4]

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Built on the Agent S framework and Simulang; the underlying model providers are not named [2, 8]
- **Bring your own model** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Standalone Simular subscription [4]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — Starter US$50/month with a cloud Windows computer, Premium US$200/month with an always-on Windows or Mac computer, Pro US$500/month with full API access, and Enterprise on request. No annual pricing is offered [4]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — The Sai product is a subscription service, though the underlying Agent S framework is Apache-2.0 and would outlive it. The company has not published what happens if the service stops. [4, 8]
- **Remote shut-off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What you keep** `documented` — Access, correction, deletion and portability are offered by email request, with no in-product export described. [6]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — The Agent S framework is Apache-2.0; the Sai product itself is not open source [8]
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Runs locally on your own Mac or Windows machine, or on an isolated cloud desktop that Simular hosts [3]
- **Passwords & credentials** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Approval before actions** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What it remembers** `documented` — The agent's virtual machine is a permanent environment where setup, logins, preferences and context persist between sessions [2]
- **Edit & export your data** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Access, correction, deletion and portability are offered by email request; no in-product export is described [6]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Cloud work runs on an isolated desktop separate from the user's own machine [3]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Invite only, with a published route to move up the queue [4]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Starter | US$50/month | Monthly; no annual pricing offered | A cloud Windows computer; Use of your own Windows or Mac machine | Community support; Credit limits apply | 4 |
| Premium | US$200/month | Monthly | An always-on Windows or Mac computer; Higher credits and priority support | Credit limits apply | 4 |
| Pro | US$500/month | Monthly | Unlimited within fair use; Team workflow sharing; Full API access | Fair-use limits apply | 4 |
| Enterprise | Custom | Priced on request | Managed scaling; Single sign-on, role-based access control and SOC 2; Service level agreement | Requires contacting the company | 4 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| macOS | Available | Native macOS app for Apple Silicon. | 3 |
| Windows | Available | Native Windows desktop app. | 3 |

## Messaging services

| Service | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| iMessage | Available | Notifications and approvals arrive by iMessage. | 2 |
| SMS | Available | Notifications and approvals arrive by SMS. | 2 |
| Telegram | Available | Notifications and approvals arrive by Telegram. | 2 |

## Hardware

`optional` Optional hardware — **Dedicated Mac mini**: A Mac mini can be used as a dedicated machine for the agent, but no hardware is required; the cloud desktop needs none. [3]

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** https://www.simular.ai/blog — Research and product posts, dated (checked 2026-10-22)

- 2026-10-21 · Research · [Agent S4 and evolving agent interfaces](https://www.simular.ai/articles/agent-s4-evolving-the-interfaces-computer-use-agents-work-throughagen) · Simular — A research release reporting that evolving the interfaces a computer-use agent works through lifts a 27B open model to 21.3% on a desktop benchmark, several times the same model with fixed interfaces.

## Sources

1. [Simular official website](https://www.simular.ai) — checked 2026-10-22
2. [Sai product site](https://www.sai.work/) — checked 2026-10-22
3. [Simular Desktop](https://www.simular.ai/simular-desktop) — checked 2026-10-22
4. [Simular pricing](https://www.simular.ai/pricing) — checked 2026-10-22
5. [About Simular](https://www.simular.ai/about) — checked 2026-10-22
6. [Simular privacy policy](https://www.simular.ai/product-sai/privacy) — checked 2026-10-22
7. [Sai becomes generally available](https://www.simular.ai/articles/sai-your-first-robosecretary) — checked 2026-10-22
8. [Agent S repository](https://github.com/simular-ai/Agent-S) — checked 2026-10-22
