# Rene

> A messaging assistant that coordinates email, calendars and browser errands, with Rene-to-Rene planning between people.

- **Maker:** Marumaru / Second Enlightenment
- **Catalogue type:** Hosted agent
- **Website:** https://rene.co/
- **Source code:** unknown — no public repository recorded
- **Also known as:** unknown — no other names recorded
- **Evidence:** 6 sources, checked 2026-10-21 to 2026-10-21
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/rene/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/rene.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available | documented | 2, 5 |
| Price & usage costs | Free to start | documented | 1, 5 |
| Included in another plan | unknown | unknown | — |
| Where it runs | Provider cloud | documented | 3, 4 |
| Open source & license | unknown | unknown | — |
| Controls your computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Its own computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Works while your computer is off | unknown | unknown | — |
| If the vendor stops | Stops | limited | 3, 4 |
| Remote shut-off | unknown | unknown | — |
| What you keep | On request | documented | 3 |
| Company type | Startup | documented | 1 |
| Launch date | unknown | unknown | — |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Startup [1]
- **Company stage** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Disclosed funding** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Launch date** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

**Launch history**

unknown — no dated launch event is recorded.

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Rene-to-Rene planning, connected-app coordination, and creating websites, slides and images from chat. [1]
- **Computer use** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Controls your computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Its own computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Works while your computer is off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Browser control** `documented` — Browses websites and completes errands such as restaurant reservations. [1]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `documented` — Accepts voice requests. [6]
- **Background work & triggers** `documented` — Recurring briefs, reminders and follow-ups; surfaces changes requiring attention. [5]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **iPhone & Android apps** `documented` — Native iPhone and iPad app; requires iOS / iPadOS 16.4 or later. [5]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Messages on iPhone, WhatsApp, Telegram and the web app. [2, 3]
- **Messaging services** `documented` — iMessage, WhatsApp, Telegram [2, 3]
- **Native hardware** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Developer API** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — OpenAI and DeepSeek inference, with OpenRouter for routing. [4]
- **Bring your own model** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Included in another plan** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — Free to start. US App Store lists Rene Pro purchases at $20 and $200, and Premium at $200; purchase periods and allowances are not listed. [1, 5]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Provider-hosted, so the service depends on the vendor's servers. The company has not published what happens if it shuts down. [3, 4]
- **Remote shut-off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What you keep** `documented` — Access, correction, export or deletion by contacting the company; no self-serve export, no format stated and no retention period after cancellation. [3]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Managed service with external AI inference providers. [3, 4]
- **Passwords & credentials** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Email and calendar use delegated OAuth access rather than storing service passwords. [3]
- **Approval before actions** `documented` — Asks before sensitive information is sent or changed. [2]
- **What it remembers** `documented` — Keeps conversations, preferences, saved context and connected-app state for future requests. [3]
- **Edit & export your data** `documented` — Access, correction, export and deletion can be requested; connected services can be disconnected. [3]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Encrypted in transit and at rest; requests consent before sending data to external AI providers. [3]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Available through messaging and the App Store. [2, 5]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Free to start | Free to start | No card required | — | Public usage allowance is not stated. | 1 |
| Pro | $20 / $200 | US App Store purchases | — | The public listing does not identify billing periods or included allowances. | 5 |
| Premium | $200 | US App Store purchase | — | The public listing does not identify the billing period or included allowances. | 5 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | Rene web app at app.rene.co. | 3 |
| iOS | Available | Native iPhone app; iOS 16.4+. | 5 |
| iPadOS | Available | Native iPad app; iPadOS 16.4+. | 5 |

## Messaging services

| Service | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| iMessage | Available | Messages on iPhone, WhatsApp, Telegram and the web app. | 2, 3 |
| WhatsApp | Available | Messages on iPhone, WhatsApp, Telegram and the web app. | 2, 3 |
| Telegram | Available | Messages on iPhone, WhatsApp, Telegram and the web app. | 2, 3 |

## Hardware

`unknown` — no dedicated hardware is established by the reviewed sources.

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** no public release notes found — Checked: no blog, changelog or updates page on the official site (checked 2026-10-22)

No dated catalogue updates mention this agent yet.

## Sources

1. [Rene product overview](https://rene.co/) — checked 2026-10-21
2. [Rene FAQ](https://rene.co/faq) — checked 2026-10-21
3. [Rene privacy policy](https://rene.co/privacy) — checked 2026-10-21
4. [Rene AI provider list](https://rene.co/ai-providers) — checked 2026-10-21
5. [Rene on the App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/rene-ai-with-friends/id6768238195) — checked 2026-10-21
6. [Rene terms of service](https://rene.co/terms) — checked 2026-10-21
