# PicoClaw

> A Go personal assistant designed for small devices and diverse hardware.

- **Maker:** Sipeed
- **Catalogue type:** Self-hosted runtime
- **Website:** https://picoclaw.io
- **Source code:** https://github.com/sipeed/picoclaw
- **Also known as:** unknown — no other names recorded
- **Evidence:** 5 sources, checked 2026-10-21 to 2026-10-21
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/picoclaw/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/picoclaw.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available | documented | 1 |
| Price & usage costs | Free; you pay models | documented | 1 |
| Included in another plan | unknown | unknown | — |
| Where it runs | Self-hosted | documented | 1 |
| Open source & license | MIT | documented | 1 |
| Controls your computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Its own computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Works while your computer is off | unknown | unknown | — |
| If the vendor stops | Keeps working | documented | 1 |
| Remote shut-off | Not possible | documented | 1 |
| What you keep | Partial | documented | 1 |
| Company type | unknown | unknown | — |
| Launch date | unknown | unknown | — |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Company stage** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Disclosed funding** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Launch date** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

**Launch history**

unknown — no dated launch event is recorded.

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Lightweight Go runtime for small Linux boards, RISC-V devices, and older Android phones. [1]
- **Computer use** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Controls your computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Its own computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Works while your computer is off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Browser control** `documented` — Browser automation through the bundled agent-browser skill. [2]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `documented` — Speech-to-text and text-to-speech using configured providers; ambient listening not specified. [4, 5]
- **Background work & triggers** `documented` — One-shot reminders, recurring tasks, and cron. [1]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Launcher opens chat in your browser; Windows/Linux system-tray support. Not a separate native chat UI. [1]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `documented` — Android APK runs PicoClaw on the phone; Termux is optional. [1]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Telegram, Discord, WhatsApp, Weixin, Slack, Matrix, and others. [1]
- **Messaging services** `documented` — WhatsApp, Telegram, Slack, Discord, WeChat, Matrix [1]
- **Native hardware** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Developer API** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — MCP client for external tools; a developer HTTP API is not specified. [1]

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — Hosted providers plus Ollama and vLLM. [1]
- **Bring your own model** `documented` — Own API keys for hosted providers, or local Ollama/vLLM servers. [1]
- **Included in another plan** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — Open-source software with no software subscription. Supply your own model access and deployment; their costs and limits vary. [1]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `documented` — Open-source software you run yourself, so it keeps running if the project stops; it still depends on whichever model provider you point it at. [1]
- **Remote shut-off** `documented` — Runs on hardware you control, with no vendor activation or licence check described. [1]
- **What you keep** `documented` — State lives on hardware you control, but a documented full export and restore path is not established. [1]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `documented` — MIT [1]
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Self-hosted binary, Docker, or Android. [1]
- **Passwords & credentials** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Approval before actions** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Extensible tool-approval hooks can allow or deny actions; setup is required. [3]
- **What it remembers** `documented` — JSONL memory store. [1]
- **Edit & export your data** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Binaries for RISC-V, ARM, MIPS, and x86. Full state export / restore not verified. [1]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Pre-1.0 security caveats; configurable isolation documented. [1]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Available for self-hosting. [1]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Self-hosted | Free software | Model access and hosting are supplied separately. | MIT open-source license; Own API keys for hosted providers, or local Ollama/vLLM servers. | Usage limits and running costs depend on your chosen provider and deployment. | 1 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | Launcher opens chat in your browser; Windows/Linux system-tray support. Not a separate native chat UI. | 1 |
| Android | Available | Android APK runs PicoClaw on the phone; Termux is optional. | 1 |

## Messaging services

| Service | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| WhatsApp | Available | Telegram, Discord, WhatsApp, Weixin, Slack, Matrix, and others. | 1 |
| Telegram | Available | Telegram, Discord, WhatsApp, Weixin, Slack, Matrix, and others. | 1 |
| Slack | Available | Telegram, Discord, WhatsApp, Weixin, Slack, Matrix, and others. | 1 |
| Discord | Available | Telegram, Discord, WhatsApp, Weixin, Slack, Matrix, and others. | 1 |
| WeChat | Available | Telegram, Discord, WhatsApp, Weixin, Slack, Matrix, and others. | 1 |
| Matrix | Available | Telegram, Discord, WhatsApp, Weixin, Slack, Matrix, and others. | 1 |

## Hardware

`unknown` — no dedicated hardware is established by the reviewed sources.

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** unknown — no update source has been recorded for this agent.

- 2026-07-03 · Release · [PicoClaw v0.3.1](https://github.com/sipeed/picoclaw/releases/tag/v0.3.1) · Sipeed — A maintenance release collecting provider and storage fixes; the published notes list merged changes without a written summary.

## Sources

1. [PicoClaw README](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/sipeed/picoclaw/main/README.md) — checked 2026-10-21
2. [PicoClaw bundled browser skill](https://github.com/sipeed/picoclaw/blob/main/workspace/skills/agent-browser/SKILL.md) — checked 2026-10-21
3. [PicoClaw hook system](https://github.com/sipeed/picoclaw/blob/main/docs/architecture/hooks/README.md) — checked 2026-10-21
4. [PicoClaw speech recognition](https://github.com/sipeed/picoclaw/blob/main/pkg/audio/asr/README.md) — checked 2026-10-21
5. [PicoClaw speech synthesis](https://github.com/sipeed/picoclaw/blob/main/pkg/audio/tts/README.md) — checked 2026-10-21
