# Perplexity Computer

> A cloud agent with a real filesystem and browser, a memory called Brain that models your projects and people, and an optional desktop app that controls your own machine.

- **Maker:** Perplexity AI, Inc.
- **Catalogue type:** Hosted agent
- **Website:** https://www.perplexity.ai/computer
- **Source code:** unknown — no public repository recorded
- **Also known as:** Perplexity Brain, Comet
- **Evidence:** 11 sources, checked 2026-10-22 to 2026-10-22
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/perplexity-computer/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/perplexity-computer.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available · paid plan | documented | 1, 3 |
| Price & usage costs | Pro US$20/mo; Max US$200/mo | documented | 7, 8 |
| Included in another plan | With a Perplexity plan | documented | 7 |
| Where it runs | Provider cloud, or your hardware | documented | 1, 4, 5 |
| Open source & license | unknown | unknown | — |
| Controls your computer | Yes · Mac, Windows, Linux | documented | 4 |
| Its own computer | Cloud | documented | 2, 5 |
| Works while your computer is off | Keeps working | documented | 1, 6 |
| If the vendor stops | Stops | limited | 1 |
| Remote shut-off | unknown | unknown | — |
| What you keep | Self-serve | documented | 11 |
| Company type | Startup | documented | 2 |
| Launch date | Feb 25, 2026 | documented | 2 |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Startup [2]
- **Company stage** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Disclosed funding** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Launch date** `documented` — Feb 25, 2026 · Public launch · Perplexity Computer introduced [2]

**Launch history**

- 2026-02-25 · Public launch · Perplexity Computer introduced [2]

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Brain builds a wiki-style memory of concepts, entities and workstreams from your sessions, connectors and files, which you can read, edit and correct [3]
- **Computer use** `documented` — Cloud tasks get a real filesystem and browser on Perplexity's isolated machine; the separate Personal Computer desktop app controls the user's own machine including native apps like Mail and Finder [2, 4]
- **Controls your computer** `documented` — The Personal Computer desktop app reaches local files and native applications including Mail, Finder and Slack. [4]
- **Its own computer** `documented` — A secure isolated cloud machine with a real filesystem and browser; Portable Computer can instead run it on your own GPU hardware. [2, 5]
- **Works while your computer is off** `documented` — Cloud tasks and schedules run in Perplexity's environment rather than on the user's device. [1, 6]
- **Browser control** `documented` — A real browser in its isolated cloud environment [2]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `documented` — Voice control is listed as part of the Personal Computer desktop app [4]
- **Background work & triggers** `documented` — Scheduled Tasks run hourly, daily, weekly, monthly or on a custom cadence, at most once an hour and up to fifteen active per conversation, managed in an automations dashboard [6]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `documented` — Desktop apps for macOS 15 and later, Windows 10 and 11, and Ubuntu [4]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `documented` — Native iOS and Android apps [1]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Web, iOS, Android and desktop apps, plus Slack and email [1, 9, 10]
- **Messaging services** `documented` — Slack, Email [9, 10]
- **Native hardware** `documented` — Portable Computer runs the model and agent on your own hardware, requiring an NVIDIA DGX Spark or an RTX-class GPU with at least 24 GB of video memory. It is optional; the cloud service needs no hardware. [5]
- **Developer API** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — A developer API platform exists, but a public API for controlling the Computer agent is not described [1]

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — Multi-provider, using Claude for core reasoning at launch alongside Gemini, Grok and ChatGPT as sub-agents; Portable Computer runs local models on your own hardware [2, 5]
- **Bring your own model** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Custom API credentials are for third-party services the agent calls, not for model providers [1]
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Included with a paid Perplexity subscription [7]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — Requires a paid plan: Pro US$20/month or US$200/year, Max US$200/month or US$2,000/year including 10,000 Computer credits a month; Pro includes no Computer credits. Enterprise Pro starts at US$40/month per seat [7, 8]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Provider-hosted and tied to a Perplexity subscription. The company has not published what happens if it is discontinued. [1]
- **Remote shut-off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What you keep** `documented` — An export button on the account details page. [11]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Where it runs** `documented` — A secure isolated environment in Perplexity's cloud by default; Portable Computer runs the model and agent on your own hardware, and Personal Computer runs on your desktop [1, 4, 5]
- **Passwords & credentials** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Approval before actions** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What it remembers** `documented` — Brain stores concepts, entities and workstreams drawn from sessions, connectors, files and your corrections, excluding incognito sessions [3]
- **Edit & export your data** `documented` — A self-serve export from the account details page [11]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Cloud tasks run in a secure isolated environment, and incognito sessions are excluded from memory [1, 3]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Available to subscribers on web, iOS and Android; Brain remains a research preview limited to Max and Enterprise Max subscribers [1, 3]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Pro | US$20/month | US$200/year | Access to Computer on web, iOS and Android | No Computer credits included; Brain is not available on Pro | 7 |
| Max | US$200/month | US$2,000/year, annual on the web only | 10,000 Computer credits a month; Brain research preview | Brain remains a research preview | 3, 8 |
| Enterprise Pro | From US$40/user/month | From US$400/year per seat | Team administration | Priced per seat | 7 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | Available on the web to active subscribers. | 1 |
| iOS | Available | Native iOS app. | 1 |
| Android | Available | Native Android app. | 1 |
| macOS | Available | Personal Computer desktop app for macOS 15 and later. | 4 |
| Windows | Available | Personal Computer desktop app for Windows 10 and 11. | 4 |
| Linux | Available | Personal Computer desktop app for Ubuntu and DGX OS. | 4 |

## Messaging services

| Service | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Slack | Available | Perplexity is usable inside Slack. | 9 |
| Email | Available | Computer is reachable by email. | 10 |

## Hardware

`optional` Optional hardware — **GPU hardware for Portable Computer**: Portable Computer runs the model and agent on your own hardware, requiring an NVIDIA DGX Spark or an RTX-class GPU with at least 24 GB of video memory. It is optional; the cloud service needs no hardware. [5]

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** https://www.perplexity.ai/changelog — Dated changelog (checked 2026-10-22)

- 2026-10-19 · Release · [Ultrafast Computer models, Decisions API and connector controls](https://www.perplexity.ai/changelog/ultrafast-computer-models-decisions-api-and-connector-controls) · Perplexity — Faster models in Computer, a Decisions API for scored classification, and role-based connector permissions for enterprise administrators.
- 2026-10-05 · Release · [Automations, inline visualizations and new models](https://www.perplexity.ai/changelog/automations-inline-visualizations-and-gpt-6-1-sol) · Perplexity — Adds recurring Automations, inline data visualisations, additional frontier models, video generation and new connectors.
- 2026-09-21 · Release · [Effort Mode, new models and a Skills Marketplace](https://www.perplexity.ai/changelog/effort-mode-gpt-6-astra-and-skills-marketplace) · Perplexity — Introduces an effort setting trading intelligence against cost, a skills marketplace, and Portable Computer with hybrid compute on Mac.

## Sources

1. [What is Perplexity Computer](https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/13837784-what-is-computer) — checked 2026-10-22
2. [Introducing Perplexity Computer](https://www.perplexity.ai/hub/blog/introducing-perplexity-computer) — checked 2026-10-22
3. [What is Brain](https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/19700001-what-is-brain) — checked 2026-10-22
4. [What is Personal Computer](https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/14659663-what-is-personal-computer) — checked 2026-10-22
5. [What is Portable Computer](https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/20260915-what-is-portable-computer) — checked 2026-10-22
6. [Perplexity Tasks](https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/11521526-perplexity-tasks) — checked 2026-10-22
7. [Perplexity subscription plans](https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/11187416-which-perplexity-subscription-plan-is-right-for-you) — checked 2026-10-22
8. [Perplexity Max](https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/11680686-perplexity-max) — checked 2026-10-22
9. [Perplexity in Slack](https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/14016915-using-perplexity-in-slack) — checked 2026-10-22
10. [Computer in email](https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/20260715-computer-in-email) — checked 2026-10-22
11. [Exporting your Perplexity data](https://www.perplexity.ai/help-center/en/articles/11564568-gdpr-compliance-at-perplexity) — checked 2026-10-22
