# OpenFang

> A Rust agent operating system whose autonomous packages perform ongoing scheduled work.

- **Maker:** RightNow AI
- **Catalogue type:** Self-hosted runtime
- **Website:** https://openfang.sh
- **Source code:** https://github.com/RightNow-AI/openfang
- **Also known as:** unknown — no other names recorded
- **Evidence:** 5 sources, checked 2026-10-21 to 2026-10-21
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/openfang/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/openfang.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available | documented | 1 |
| Price & usage costs | Free; you pay models | documented | 1, 5 |
| Included in another plan | unknown | unknown | — |
| Where it runs | Self-hosted | documented | 1 |
| Open source & license | MIT | documented | 1 |
| Controls your computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Its own computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Works while your computer is off | unknown | unknown | — |
| If the vendor stops | Keeps working | documented | 1 |
| Remote shut-off | Not possible | documented | 1 |
| What you keep | Partial | documented | 1 |
| Company type | unknown | unknown | — |
| Launch date | unknown | unknown | — |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Company stage** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Disclosed funding** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Launch date** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

**Launch history**

unknown — no dated launch event is recorded.

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Prebuilt autonomous Hands for ongoing research, lead generation, browser tasks, and publishing workflows. [1]
- **Computer use** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Controls your computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Its own computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Works while your computer is off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Browser control** `documented` — Playwright browser automation with persistent sessions for forms and multi-step workflows. [1]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Background work & triggers** `documented` — Autonomous Hands and scheduled agent runs. [1]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `documented` — Native Tauri apps for macOS, Windows, and Linux. [3]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Messaging adapters including Telegram; browser dashboard. [1]
- **Messaging services** `documented` — Telegram [1]
- **Native hardware** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Developer API** `documented` — REST, WebSocket, and streaming APIs; also exposes an OpenAI-compatible chat endpoint. [1, 4]

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — Anthropic, Gemini, OpenAI-compatible providers, Ollama, vLLM. [1]
- **Bring your own model** `documented` — Own provider keys or local Ollama, vLLM, and LM Studio servers. [5]
- **Included in another plan** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — Open-source software with no software subscription. Supply your own model access and deployment; their costs and limits vary. [1, 5]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `documented` — Open-source software you run yourself, so it keeps running if the project stops; it still depends on whichever model provider you point it at. [1]
- **Remote shut-off** `documented` — Runs on hardware you control, with no vendor activation or licence check described. [1]
- **What you keep** `documented` — State lives on hardware you control, but a documented full export and restore path is not established. [1]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `documented` — MIT [1]
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Self-hosted daemon and dashboard. [1]
- **Passwords & credentials** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Built-in encrypted credential vault for extensions; website-login autofill not specified. [1]
- **Approval before actions** `documented` — Browser Hand requires approval before purchases; Twitter Hand queues posts for approval. [1]
- **What it remembers** `documented` — SQLite persistence and vector embeddings. [1]
- **Edit & export your data** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Imports OpenClaw agents, history, skills, and configuration. Full state export / restore not verified. [1]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — WASM sandbox, capability gates, audit chain; pre-1.0. [1]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Available for self-hosting. [1]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Self-hosted | Free software | Model access and hosting are supplied separately. | MIT open-source license; Own provider keys or local Ollama, vLLM, and LM Studio servers. | Usage limits and running costs depend on your chosen provider and deployment. | 1, 5 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | Messaging adapters including Telegram; browser dashboard. | 1 |
| macOS | Available | Native Tauri apps for macOS, Windows, and Linux. | 3 |
| Windows | Available | Native Tauri apps for macOS, Windows, and Linux. | 3 |
| Linux | Available | Native Tauri apps for macOS, Windows, and Linux. | 3 |

## Messaging services

| Service | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Telegram | Available | Messaging adapters including Telegram; browser dashboard. | 1 |

## Hardware

`unknown` — no dedicated hardware is established by the reviewed sources.

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** unknown — no update source has been recorded for this agent.

- 2026-05-12 · Release · [OpenFang v0.6.9 security patches](https://github.com/RightNow-AI/openfang/releases/tag/v0.6.9) · RightNow AI — Dependency security updates addressing advisories in certificate-chain parsing, including a reachable panic in revocation-list parsing and incorrectly accepted name constraints, plus a Wasmtime patch.
- 2026-04-19 · Release · [OpenFang v0.6.0 credits Hermes-inspired features](https://github.com/RightNow-AI/openfang/releases/tag/v0.6.0) — The release adds multi-destination cron delivery, skill configuration templates, and a shared slash-command registry.

## Sources

1. [OpenFang README](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/RightNow-AI/openfang/main/README.md) — checked 2026-10-21
2. [OpenFang v0.6.0: Hermes-inspired capabilities](https://github.com/RightNow-AI/openfang/releases/tag/v0.6.0) — checked 2026-10-21
3. [OpenFang desktop app](https://github.com/RightNow-AI/openfang/blob/main/docs/desktop.md) — checked 2026-10-21
4. [OpenFang API reference](https://github.com/RightNow-AI/openfang/blob/main/docs/api-reference.md) — checked 2026-10-21
5. [OpenFang LLM provider guide](https://github.com/RightNow-AI/openfang/blob/main/docs/providers.md) — checked 2026-10-21
