# Omi

> An always-listening personal AI that captures conversations and your screen, turning them into summaries, action items and searchable memory, with an optional pendant.

- **Maker:** Based Hardware Inc.
- **Catalogue type:** Local-first app
- **Website:** https://www.omi.me
- **Source code:** https://github.com/BasedHardware/omi
- **Also known as:** Friend, Based Hardware
- **Evidence:** 7 sources, checked 2026-10-22 to 2026-10-22
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/omi/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/omi.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available | documented | 1, 4 |
| Price & usage costs | Free; Pro US$269/yr | documented | 4 |
| Included in another plan | Free plan included with every device; Pro is a standalone subscription | documented | 4 |
| Where it runs | Hosted, or self-host the backend | documented | 2 |
| Open source & license | MIT | documented | 3 |
| Controls your computer | Limited · Mac, Windows | documented | 1 |
| Its own computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Works while your computer is off | unknown | unknown | — |
| If the vendor stops | Partly | documented | 2, 3 |
| Remote shut-off | unknown | unknown | — |
| What you keep | On request | documented | 5, 6 |
| Company type | Startup | documented | 1 |
| Launch date | Mar 22, 2024 | documented | 2 |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Startup [1]
- **Company stage** `documented` — Based Hardware Inc., San Francisco [1]
- **Disclosed funding** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Launch date** `documented` — Mar 22, 2024 · Open-source release · Repository first published, under the earlier name Friend [2]

**Launch history**

- 2024-03-22 · Open-source release · Repository first published, under the earlier name Friend [2]

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Captures conversations and screen context continuously and turns them into summaries, action items and searchable memory across phone, desktop and an optional pendant [1, 2]
- **Computer use** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — The desktop app reads the screen; driving a browser or desktop is not described [1]
- **Controls your computer** `documented` — The desktop app reads the screen for context but does not drive applications. [1]
- **Its own computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Works while your computer is off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Browser control** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Voice & ambient listening** `documented` — Continuous listening and transcription is the core of the product, with on-phone transcription on the free plan [1, 4]
- **Background work & triggers** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Capture is continuous and summarising automatic, but no scheduled or event-triggered autonomy is described for the user's own agent [2]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `documented` — Native macOS and Windows desktop apps [1]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `documented` — Native iOS and Android apps, plus an Apple Watch app [1, 7]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — iPhone, Android, Apple Watch, macOS, Windows and the web [1]
- **Messaging services** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Native hardware** `documented` — A US$179 pendant discounted to US$129 at checkout, with ten to fourteen hours of battery, shipping worldwide; a glasses developer kit is US$499. Neither is required, since the free plan works with phone-only transcription, and the hardware designs are open source. [1, 4]
- **Developer API** `documented` — A public developer API with bearer keys covering memories, conversations and action items, rate limited per key and per user, plus an MCP server [6]

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — The hosted backend names Soniox for speech recognition; the language model providers are not disclosed [2]
- **Bring your own model** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Bringing your own key is possible only by self-hosting the backend; no local model mode is described for the consumer app [2]
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Free plan included with every device; Pro is a standalone subscription [4]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — Free plan with unlimited on-phone transcription and 300 cloud minutes a month; Pro US$269 a year. The pendant is US$179 with a US$50 discount applied at checkout, and a glasses developer kit is US$499 [4]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `documented` — MIT-licensed with a self-hostable backend, so a technical owner could keep it running, though the consumer apps point at the hosted service by default. [2, 3]
- **Remote shut-off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What you keep** `documented` — A copy of personal data can be requested by email; the developer API can also read your own conversations and memories. [5, 6]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `documented` — MIT [3]
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Apps on your own devices talking to a hosted backend, with the whole backend self-hostable from the repository [2]
- **Passwords & credentials** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Approval before actions** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What it remembers** `documented` — Conversations, transcripts, summaries, action items and remembered facts, preferences and relationships persist and are searchable [1, 5]
- **Edit & export your data** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — A copy of personal data can be requested by email; no self-serve export is described, though the developer API can read your own conversations and memories [5, 6]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Deleting a conversation deletes its transcript and associated data including stored audio [5]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Open sign-up with free apps on every platform; the device ships worldwide [1, 4]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Free | US$0 | Included with every device | Unlimited on-phone transcription; 300 cloud minutes a month | No subscription needed to start | 4 |
| Pro | US$269/year | Billed yearly | The full feature set | A monthly price is implied but not published | 4 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | Web app at app.omi.me. | 1 |
| iOS | Available | Native iOS app on the App Store. | 7 |
| Android | Available | Native Android app on Google Play. | 1 |
| macOS | Available | Native macOS desktop app. | 1 |
| Windows | Available | Native Windows desktop app. | 1 |
| Apple Watch | Available | Apple Watch app. | 1 |

## Messaging services

unknown — no messaging service is recorded for this agent.

## Hardware

`optional` Optional hardware — **Omi pendant**: A US$179 pendant discounted to US$129 at checkout, with ten to fourteen hours of battery, shipping worldwide; a glasses developer kit is US$499. Neither is required, since the free plan works with phone-only transcription, and the hardware designs are open source. [1, 4]

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** no public release notes found — Checked: the blog carries auto-generated marketing content and no dated product updates (checked 2026-10-22)

No dated catalogue updates mention this agent yet.

## Sources

1. [Omi official website](https://www.omi.me) — checked 2026-10-22
2. [Omi repository](https://github.com/BasedHardware/omi) — checked 2026-10-22
3. [Omi licence](https://github.com/BasedHardware/omi/blob/main/LICENSE) — checked 2026-10-22
4. [Omi pricing](https://www.omi.me/pages/pricing) — checked 2026-10-22
5. [Omi privacy policy](https://www.omi.me/pages/privacy) — checked 2026-10-22
6. [Omi API reference](https://docs.omi.me/api-reference/introduction) — checked 2026-10-22
7. [Omi on the App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/friend-ai-wearable/id6502156163) — checked 2026-10-22
