# NanoClaw

> A customizable personal assistant running individual agents in isolated containers.

- **Maker:** NanoCo
- **Catalogue type:** Self-hosted runtime
- **Website:** https://nanoclaw.dev
- **Source code:** https://github.com/nanocoai/nanoclaw
- **Also known as:** unknown — no other names recorded
- **Evidence:** 7 sources, checked 2026-10-21 to 2026-10-21
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/nanoclaw/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/nanoclaw.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available | documented | 1 |
| Price & usage costs | Free; you pay models | documented | 1, 2 |
| Included in another plan | ChatGPT or Cursor accounts via optional providers | documented | 1 |
| Where it runs | Self-hosted | documented | 1 |
| Open source & license | MIT | documented | 2 |
| Controls your computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Its own computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Works while your computer is off | unknown | unknown | — |
| If the vendor stops | Keeps working | documented | 2 |
| Remote shut-off | Not possible | documented | 1 |
| What you keep | Partial | documented | 1 |
| Company type | Startup | documented | 6, 7 |
| Launch date | Feb 2026 | documented | 6 |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Startup [6, 7]
- **Company stage** `documented` — Seed [6, 7]
- **Disclosed funding** `documented` — US$12M · Seed · May 20, 2026 [6, 7]
- **Launch date** `documented` — Feb 2026 · Open-source release [6]

**Launch history**

- 2026-02 · Open-source release [6]

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Separate agent containers and reusable agent templates containing instructions, tools, and skills. [1]
- **Computer use** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Controls your computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Its own computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Works while your computer is off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Browser control** `documented` — Bundled agent-browser skill opens pages, clicks, fills forms, and captures screenshots inside the agent container. [3]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Background work & triggers** `documented` — Recurring tasks with optional script gates. [1]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **iPhone & Android apps** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Slack, Telegram, WhatsApp, Discord, iMessage, and installable adapters. [1]
- **Messaging services** `documented` — iMessage, WhatsApp, Telegram, Slack, Discord [1]
- **Native hardware** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Developer API** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — MCP tools and a TypeScript channel-adapter interface; public REST API not specified. [1, 4]

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — Claude default; optional Codex, OpenCode, Cursor, or Ollama. [1]
- **Bring your own model** `documented` — Anthropic-compatible endpoints, optional Codex/OpenCode/Cursor providers, and local Ollama models. [1]
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Optional Codex provider uses a ChatGPT subscription; optional Cursor provider uses a Cursor account. [1]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — Open-source software with no software subscription. Supply your own model access and deployment; their costs and limits vary. [1, 2]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `documented` — Open-source software you run yourself, so it keeps running if the project stops; it still depends on whichever model provider you point it at. [2]
- **Remote shut-off** `documented` — Runs on hardware you control, with no vendor activation or licence check described. [1]
- **What you keep** `documented` — State lives on hardware you control, but a documented full export and restore path is not established. [1]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `documented` — MIT [2]
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Self-hosted Docker on macOS, Linux, or WSL2. [1]
- **Passwords & credentials** `documented` — Separate credential gateway, currently OneCLI Agent Vault; injects API credentials outside agent containers. [1]
- **Approval before actions** `documented` — Admin approval for package installs and MCP additions; the credential gateway can gate credentialed requests. [5]
- **What it remembers** `documented` — Separate per-agent workspace, instructions, and memory. [1]
- **Edit & export your data** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — User-customized code forks; reusable agent templates. Full state export / restore not verified. [1]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Container filesystem isolation and credential gateway. [1]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Available for self-hosting. [1]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Self-hosted | Free software | Model access and hosting are supplied separately. | MIT open-source license; Anthropic-compatible endpoints, optional Codex/OpenCode/Cursor providers, and local Ollama models. | Usage limits and running costs depend on your chosen provider and deployment. | 1, 2 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

unknown — no native app or web client is recorded.

## Messaging services

| Service | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| iMessage | Available | Slack, Telegram, WhatsApp, Discord, iMessage, and installable adapters. | 1 |
| WhatsApp | Available | Slack, Telegram, WhatsApp, Discord, iMessage, and installable adapters. | 1 |
| Telegram | Available | Slack, Telegram, WhatsApp, Discord, iMessage, and installable adapters. | 1 |
| Slack | Available | Slack, Telegram, WhatsApp, Discord, iMessage, and installable adapters. | 1 |
| Discord | Available | Slack, Telegram, WhatsApp, Discord, iMessage, and installable adapters. | 1 |

## Hardware

`unknown` — no dedicated hardware is established by the reviewed sources.

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** unknown — no update source has been recorded for this agent.

- 2026-10-09 · Release · [NanoClaw 2026.10.0 moves to calendar versioning](https://github.com/nanocoai/nanoclaw/releases/tag/v2026.10.0) · NanoClaw — The first release numbered by calendar date and the first the updater installs by default, so updates follow published releases rather than the tip of the main branch, with more dependable updates and rollbacks.

## Sources

1. [NanoClaw README](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/nanocoai/nanoclaw/main/README.md) — checked 2026-10-21
2. [NanoClaw official repository and license](https://github.com/nanocoai/nanoclaw) — checked 2026-10-21
3. [NanoClaw bundled browser automation](https://github.com/nanocoai/nanoclaw/blob/main/container/skills/agent-browser/SKILL.md) — checked 2026-10-21
4. [NanoClaw channel adapter interface](https://github.com/nanocoai/nanoclaw/blob/main/docs/api-details.md) — checked 2026-10-21
5. [NanoClaw approval-gated tools](https://github.com/nanocoai/nanoclaw/blob/main/src/modules/approvals/agent.md) — checked 2026-10-21
6. [NanoCo seed financing and NanoClaw launch history](https://www.helpnetsecurity.com/2026/05/20/nanoco-seed-funding-12-million/) — checked 2026-10-21
7. [NanoCo announces its seed financing](https://www.linkedin.com/posts/nanocoai_today-were-announcing-nanoco-our-enterprise-activity-7462898172324143105-beHf) — checked 2026-10-21
