# nanobot

> A Python personal-agent framework with persistent workflows across terminal, browser, and chat apps.

- **Maker:** HKUDS
- **Catalogue type:** Self-hosted runtime
- **Website:** https://nanobot.wiki
- **Source code:** https://github.com/HKUDS/nanobot
- **Also known as:** unknown — no other names recorded
- **Evidence:** 9 sources, checked 2026-10-21 to 2026-10-21
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/nanobot/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/nanobot.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available | documented | 1 |
| Price & usage costs | Free; you pay models | documented | 1, 8 |
| Included in another plan | Codex, Grok, or Copilot account sign-in | documented | 1, 8 |
| Where it runs | Self-hosted | documented | 1 |
| Open source & license | MIT | documented | 1 |
| Controls your computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Its own computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Works while your computer is off | unknown | unknown | — |
| If the vendor stops | Keeps working | documented | 1 |
| Remote shut-off | Not possible | documented | 1 |
| What you keep | Partial | documented | 1 |
| Company type | Research group | documented | 9 |
| Launch date | Feb 2, 2026 | documented | 9 |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Research group [9]
- **Company stage** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Disclosed funding** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Launch date** `documented` — Feb 2, 2026 · Open-source release [9]

**Launch history**

- 2026-02-02 · Open-source release [9]

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Dream long-term memory, long-horizon goals, and built-in Office/PDF file reading. [1]
- **Computer use** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Controls your computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Its own computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Works while your computer is off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Browser control** `documented` — Browserbase integration through MCP; web search and page fetching are built in. [4, 5]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `documented` — Transcribes voice messages and WebUI microphone input into editable text. [4]
- **Background work & triggers** `documented` — Cron, scheduled automations, and long-horizon goals. [1]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Browser interface and terminal on macOS, Windows, and Linux; native desktop app not specified. [1]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — iOS home-screen web app (PWA); native iOS or Android app not specified. [7]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — WebUI, Telegram, Discord, Slack, WeChat, email, and others. [1]
- **Messaging services** `documented` — Telegram, Slack, Discord, WeChat, Email [1]
- **Native hardware** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Developer API** `documented` — Python SDK plus self-hosted OpenAI-compatible chat API with streaming and file uploads. [1, 6]

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — Hosted providers, OpenAI-compatible endpoints, and local servers. [1]
- **Bring your own model** `documented` — Own provider keys or local servers including Ollama, vLLM, and LM Studio. [8]
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Supports Codex, eligible X Premium/Grok, and GitHub Copilot account sign-in; nanobot supplies no model account. [1, 8]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — Open-source software with no software subscription. Supply your own model access and deployment; their costs and limits vary. [1, 8]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `documented` — Open-source software you run yourself, so it keeps running if the project stops; it still depends on whichever model provider you point it at. [1]
- **Remote shut-off** `documented` — Runs on hardware you control, with no vendor activation or licence check described. [1]
- **What you keep** `documented` — State lives on hardware you control, but a documented full export and restore path is not established. [1]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `documented` — MIT [1]
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Self-hosted local or server gateway. [1]
- **Passwords & credentials** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Can load secrets through 1Password, Bitwarden, or pass command-line wrappers; no built-in autofill specified. [4]
- **Approval before actions** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What it remembers** `documented` — Saved sessions and Dream long-term memory. [1]
- **Edit & export your data** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Python SDK and OpenAI-compatible API. Full state export / restore not verified. [1]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Documented channel allowlists and environment-based secret configuration. [2]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Available for self-hosting. [1]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Self-hosted | Free software | Model access and hosting are supplied separately. | MIT open-source license; Own provider keys or local servers including Ollama, vLLM, and LM Studio. | Usage limits and running costs depend on your chosen provider and deployment. | 1, 8 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | Browser interface and terminal on macOS, Windows, and Linux; native desktop app not specified. | 1 |

## Messaging services

| Service | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Telegram | Available | WebUI, Telegram, Discord, Slack, WeChat, email, and others. | 1 |
| Slack | Available | WebUI, Telegram, Discord, Slack, WeChat, email, and others. | 1 |
| Discord | Available | WebUI, Telegram, Discord, Slack, WeChat, email, and others. | 1 |
| WeChat | Available | WebUI, Telegram, Discord, Slack, WeChat, email, and others. | 1 |
| Email | Available | WebUI, Telegram, Discord, Slack, WeChat, email, and others. | 1 |

## Hardware

`unknown` — no dedicated hardware is established by the reviewed sources.

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** unknown — no update source has been recorded for this agent.

- 2026-09-15 · Release · [nanobot v0.3.5 unifies terminal and browser continuity](https://github.com/HKUDS/nanobot/releases/tag/v0.3.5) — The release adds a native terminal client sharing saved conversations with the browser, plus improved automation views and session recovery.
- 2026-07-25 · Release · [nanobot v0.3.0](https://github.com/HKUDS/nanobot/releases/tag/v0.3.0) · HKUDS — 260 merged pull requests and 38 new contributors. A single command now prepares the local web interface, starts the gateway and opens a browser workbench, with guided provider setup on a fresh install.

## Sources

1. [nanobot README](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/HKUDS/nanobot/main/README.md) — checked 2026-10-21
2. [nanobot security policy](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/HKUDS/nanobot/main/SECURITY.md) — checked 2026-10-21
3. [nanobot v0.1.4.post6 README: OpenClaw inspiration](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/HKUDS/nanobot/v0.1.4.post6/README.md) — checked 2026-10-21
4. [nanobot configuration](https://github.com/HKUDS/nanobot/blob/main/docs/configuration.md) — checked 2026-10-21
5. [nanobot MCP presets](https://github.com/HKUDS/nanobot/blob/main/docs/mcp-presets.md) — checked 2026-10-21
6. [nanobot agent HTTP API](https://github.com/HKUDS/nanobot/blob/main/docs/openai-api.md) — checked 2026-10-21
7. [nanobot iOS home-screen web app](https://github.com/HKUDS/nanobot/blob/main/docs/guides/ios-pwa-status-bar.md) — checked 2026-10-21
8. [nanobot model providers](https://github.com/HKUDS/nanobot/blob/main/docs/providers.md) — checked 2026-10-21
9. [nanobot release archive: original launch](https://github.com/HKUDS/nanobot/blob/main/docs/release-archive.md) — checked 2026-10-21
