# Muse

> A personal agent that uses a dedicated virtual machine and connected apps to advance ongoing goals.

- **Maker:** Meta
- **Catalogue type:** Hosted agent
- **Website:** https://about.fb.com/news/2026/09/introducing-muse-personal-ai-agent/
- **Source code:** unknown — no public repository recorded
- **Also known as:** unknown — no other names recorded
- **Evidence:** 9 sources, checked 2026-10-21 to 2026-10-26
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/muse/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/muse.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available · some regions | limited | 1 |
| Price & usage costs | Free; paid upgrades | limited | 1 |
| Included in another plan | Standalone Muse plans | documented | 1 |
| Where it runs | Provider cloud | documented | 1 |
| Open source & license | unknown | unknown | — |
| Controls your computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Its own computer | Cloud | documented | 2 |
| Works while your computer is off | unknown | unknown | — |
| If the vendor stops | Stops | limited | 1 |
| Remote shut-off | unknown | unknown | — |
| What you keep | Self-serve | documented | 8 |
| Company type | Public company | documented | 3 |
| Launch date | Sep 8, 2026 | documented | 1 |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Public company [3]
- **Company stage** `documented` — Public · NASDAQ: META [3]
- **Disclosed funding** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Launch date** `documented` — Sep 8, 2026 · Public launch [1]

**Launch history**

- 2026-09-08 · Public launch [1]

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Tracks long-running goals and event-driven follow-ups; memory files can be read and edited directly. [2]
- **Computer use** `documented` — Dedicated cloud virtual machine with browser, terminal, and files; local desktop control is not specified. [2]
- **Controls your computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Its own computer** `documented` — A dedicated secure virtual machine with its own browser. Whether you can watch it is not specified. [2]
- **Works while your computer is off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Browser control** `documented` — Cloud browser searches, fills forms, books, and purchases. [2]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Background work & triggers** `documented` — Scheduled and event-triggered background work. [2]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Native Mac app, released 17 September 2026 after the original launch announcement; Windows and Linux are not specified. [7]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `documented` — Native iOS and Android apps, plus WhatsApp access. [1]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Muse app and WhatsApp [1]
- **Messaging services** `documented` — WhatsApp [1]
- **Native hardware** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Meta says Muse is coming to its AI glasses in the coming months, where you say the agent's name and it can act on what you are looking at. Meta's own pages still describe this as coming soon, and the AI glasses release notes do not list it as shipped. Muse's cloud virtual machine is separate from this. [1, 9]
- **Developer API** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — Muse Spark at launch [1]
- **Bring your own model** `documented` — Muse Spark supplied by the service at launch; BYO models are not specified. [1]
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Standalone Muse service with free usage and subscription upgrades; no wider paid bundle is listed. [1]
- **Price & usage costs** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Free for everyday use, with paid subscriptions for higher usage; paid tier prices and numerical allowances are not listed in the launch announcement. [1]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Provider-hosted, so the service depends on the vendor's servers. The company has not published what happens if it shuts down. [1]
- **Remote shut-off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What you keep** `documented` — Settings, then Data controls, then Download your Muse data, covering chats, files and other agent information. No retention period after deletion is stated. [8]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Muse Secure VM with its own browser [1]
- **Passwords & credentials** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Built-in protected credential storage; the agent cannot see passwords. 1Password integration was announced as coming soon. [1]
- **Approval before actions** `documented` — Requests approval for emails and purchases; a separate Sentinel checks outgoing activity. [1]
- **What it remembers** `documented` — Learns from conversations and personal context [1]
- **Edit & export your data** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Memory files are readable and editable; exporting the full runtime is not specified. [2]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — User chooses access; dedicated VM [1]
- **Availability & access** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Launched; current regional coverage needs review [1]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Free | US$0 | Free | Everyday use through the Muse app and web | Numerical allowance not published; Meta also announces paid subscriptions for heavier use, without public tier prices | 1 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | Web at muse.ai; no native desktop app is listed in the launch announcement. | 1 |
| iOS | Available | Native iOS and Android apps, plus WhatsApp access. | 1 |
| Android | Available | Native iOS and Android apps, plus WhatsApp access. | 1 |
| macOS | Available | Mac app announced as out on 17 September 2026, described as working across apps, files, calendar, notes and messages on the computer. | 7 |

## Messaging services

| Service | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| WhatsApp | Available | Muse app and WhatsApp | 1 |

## Hardware

`announced` Announced, not shipping — **Meta AI glasses**: Meta says Muse is coming to its AI glasses in the coming months, where you say the agent's name and it can act on what you are looking at. Meta's own pages still describe this as coming soon, and the AI glasses release notes do not list it as shipped. Muse's cloud virtual machine is separate from this. [1, 9]

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

| Data source | Open to third parties? | This agent's route | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Instagram & Facebook profile | First-party only | First-party | Reaches Instagram and Facebook profile and engagement data through Meta's Accounts Center. No third-party agent has an equivalent route to a personal Meta graph. | 4 |
| Instagram direct messages | Reachable by nobody | Cannot reach it | Meta states its generative AI excludes private messages, so Instagram DMs are out of reach for Meta's own assistant as well as for others. | 5 |
| WhatsApp messages | Reachable by nobody | Cannot reach it | WhatsApp personal messages are end-to-end encrypted and WhatsApp states they are not seen by Meta AI. | 6 |

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

Provider: Feedback Bench (https://feedbackbench.com/); data: https://feedbackbench.com/data/personal.json. Window 2026-08-31 to 2026-10-18; checked 2026-10-21.
Sample: 60878 posts, 13490 positive and 4694 negative rated user-weeks — 74.2% positive.
That percentage is the raw positive share of rated user-weeks, not the provider's composite score or ranking.
Channels: App Store, Play Store, Reddit, X, YouTube. Build 1.1, built 2026-10-19.

| Area | Praise | Complaint | Positive share | Area method |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Getting tasks done | 3830 | 926 | 80.5% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/act.md |
| Talking to the agent | 1405 | 898 | 61% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/ask.md |
| Getting access and set up | 587 | 1270 | 31.6% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/access.md |
| Running on its own | 1151 | 264 | 81.3% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/auto.md |
| Paying for the agent | 878 | 456 | 65.8% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/billing.md |
| Connecting accounts, sites and devices | 615 | 622 | 49.7% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/connect.md |
| Trusting it with data and safety | 163 | 559 | 22.6% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/trust.md |
| Staying in control | 363 | 236 | 60.6% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/control.md |
| Dealing with the vendor | 77 | 423 | 15.4% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/vendor.md |

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** unknown — no update source has been recorded for this agent.

- 2026-09-17 · Release · [Muse for Mac released](https://x.com/finkd/status/2100713341555712149) · Meta — Meta's chief executive announces a Mac app nine days after launch, describing access to apps, files, calendar, notes and messages with user-controlled permissions.
- 2026-09-08 · Launch · [Meta introduces Muse](https://about.fb.com/news/2026/09/introducing-muse-personal-ai-agent/) · Meta — Meta announces a personal agent in the Muse app and WhatsApp, running on a dedicated virtual machine.

## Sources

1. [Meta introduces Muse, its plans and future glasses access](https://about.fb.com/news/2026/09/introducing-muse-personal-ai-agent/) — checked 2026-10-21
2. [How We Designed Muse](https://introducing.muse.ai/) — checked 2026-10-21
3. [Meta investor relations: stock listing](https://investor.atmeta.com/stock-info/default.aspx) — checked 2026-10-21
4. [Meta: building toward a smarter, more personalized assistant](https://about.fb.com/news/2025/01/building-toward-a-smarter-more-personalized-assistant/) — checked 2026-10-22
5. [Meta generative AI privacy guide](https://www.facebook.com/privacy/guide/genai/) — checked 2026-10-22
6. [WhatsApp privacy questions: Meta AI and personal messages](https://www.whatsapp.com/privacyquestions) — checked 2026-10-22
7. [Meta CEO announces Muse for Mac](https://x.com/finkd/status/2100713341555712149) — checked 2026-10-22
8. [Muse data controls and download](https://www.meta.com/help/artificial-intelligence/2225571704857152/) — checked 2026-10-22
9. [Introducing Ray-Ban Meta Audio and more AI glasses styles, plus Muse](https://about.fb.com/news/2026/09/introducing-ray-ban-meta-audio-glasses-new-styles-plus-muse/) — checked 2026-10-26
