# Moltis

> A single-binary Rust agent server you run on your own hardware, with durable memory, sandboxed tool execution and more than ten chat channels.

- **Maker:** Fabien Penso
- **Catalogue type:** Self-hosted runtime
- **Website:** https://moltis.org
- **Source code:** https://github.com/moltis-org/moltis
- **Also known as:** unknown — no other names recorded
- **Evidence:** 9 sources, checked 2026-10-22 to 2026-10-22
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/moltis/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/moltis.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available | documented | 4 |
| Price & usage costs | Free; you pay models | documented | 1, 3 |
| Included in another plan | Open-source software with no hosted tier | documented | 1 |
| Where it runs | Self-hosted | documented | 4, 5, 6 |
| Open source & license | MIT | documented | 8 |
| Controls your computer | Limited | documented | 2, 7 |
| Its own computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Works while your computer is off | unknown | unknown | — |
| If the vendor stops | Keeps working | documented | 4, 8 |
| Remote shut-off | Not possible | documented | 4 |
| What you keep | Self-serve | documented | 2, 4 |
| Company type | Independent project | documented | 1, 8 |
| Launch date | Feb 3, 2026 | documented | 9 |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Independent project [1, 8]
- **Company stage** `documented` — Built by an individual developer [1, 8]
- **Disclosed funding** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Launch date** `documented` — Feb 3, 2026 · Open-source release · First public release [9]

**Launch history**

- 2026-02-03 · Open-source release · First public release [9]

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — One Rust binary holding the agent, its memory and more than ten chat channels, with a native desktop client that attaches to the running daemon locally or over SSH [1, 2]
- **Computer use** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Browser automation runs on the host where the daemon runs, which may be your own machine; desktop or GUI control is not claimed [2, 7]
- **Controls your computer** `documented` — Browser automation runs on the host where the daemon runs, which may be your own machine; desktop control is not claimed. [2, 7]
- **Its own computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Works while your computer is off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Browser control** `documented` — Built-in browser automation, with SSRF protection on web fetching [2, 7]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `documented` — Telephony and voice are listed among its channels [3]
- **Background work & triggers** `documented` — Cron scheduling, with durable local CalDAV and email connectors [2, 3]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `documented` — A native Rust desktop client attaches to a running daemon locally, over HTTPS or through an SSH tunnel, with keychain-stored scoped keys and certificate pinning [2]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `documented` — A mobile progressive web app with push notifications; no native mobile app [2]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Web interface, native desktop client, mobile progressive web app and an API, plus messaging channels [2, 3]
- **Messaging services** `documented` — WhatsApp, Telegram, Signal, Slack, Discord, Microsoft Teams, Matrix, Email [2, 3]
- **Native hardware** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Developer API** `documented` — GraphQL API with scoped keys and webhooks [3]

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — Anthropic, OpenAI, Gemini, DeepSeek, Mistral, Groq, xAI, OpenRouter, Ollama and local models, plus GitHub Copilot and OpenAI Codex over OAuth [3, 4]
- **Bring your own model** `documented` — Bring your own keys, held in an encrypted vault [3, 4]
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Open-source software with no hosted tier [1]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — Free software; no hosted service or paid tier is published [1, 3]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `documented` — MIT-licensed single binary you run on your own hardware, so it keeps running if the author stops. [4, 8]
- **Remote shut-off** `documented` — Runs on your own hardware with no activation or licence check described. [4]
- **What you keep** `documented` — Sessions are JSONL files in a local data directory and the web interface exports Markdown. [2, 4]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `documented` — MIT [8]
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Self-hosted from an install script, Homebrew, Docker or cargo, or deployed to a cloud host you manage [4, 5, 6]
- **Passwords & credentials** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Approval before actions** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What it remembers** `documented` — Long-term memory in SQLite with full-text search and vector embeddings, plus session persistence with auto-compaction; you add knowledge by dropping Markdown files into a local memory directory [2, 4]
- **Edit & export your data** `documented` — Sessions are stored as JSONL on your own disk and the web interface exports Markdown [2, 4]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Tool and code execution is sandboxed in Docker, Podman, Apple Container or WebAssembly, and web fetching is protected against server-side request forgery [7]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Open source; install by script, Homebrew, Docker or cargo [4]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Self-hosted | US$0 | Free software | Full features when self-hosted; Your own provider keys in an encrypted vault | You provide hosting and model costs | 1, 4 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | Web interface served by the daemon. | 2 |
| macOS | Available | Native Rust desktop client; installable by Homebrew. | 2, 4 |
| Linux | Available | Native desktop client and install script. | 2, 4 |
| Mobile app | Available | Mobile progressive web app with push notifications. | 2 |

## Messaging services

| Service | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| WhatsApp | Available | Listed among Moltis chat channels. | 3 |
| Telegram | Available | Listed among Moltis chat channels. | 3 |
| Signal | Available | Listed among Moltis chat channels. | 3 |
| Slack | Available | Listed among Moltis chat channels. | 3 |
| Discord | Available | Listed among Moltis chat channels. | 3 |
| Microsoft Teams | Available | Listed among Moltis chat channels. | 3 |
| Matrix | Available | Listed among Moltis chat channels. | 3 |
| Email | Available | Email through Gmail and Himalaya connectors. | 2 |

## Hardware

`unknown` — no dedicated hardware is established by the reviewed sources.

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** unknown — no update source has been recorded for this agent.

- 2026-10-19 · Release · [Moltis 20261019.01](https://github.com/moltis-org/moltis/releases/tag/20261019.01) · Moltis — A dated build published to the project's releases; no written release notes accompany this tag.

## Sources

1. [Moltis official website](https://moltis.org) — checked 2026-10-22
2. [Moltis repository](https://github.com/moltis-org/moltis) — checked 2026-10-22
3. [Moltis documentation](https://docs.moltis.org) — checked 2026-10-22
4. [Moltis quickstart](https://docs.moltis.org/quickstart.html) — checked 2026-10-22
5. [Moltis with Docker](https://docs.moltis.org/docker.html) — checked 2026-10-22
6. [Moltis cloud deployment](https://docs.moltis.org/cloud-deploy.html) — checked 2026-10-22
7. [Moltis security](https://docs.moltis.org/security.html) — checked 2026-10-22
8. [Moltis licence](https://github.com/moltis-org/moltis/blob/main/LICENSE.md) — checked 2026-10-22
9. [Moltis first release](https://github.com/moltis-org/moltis/releases/tag/v0.1.1) — checked 2026-10-22
