# Martin

> A personal assistant reached by text, phone call or email that manages calendar and inbox, keeps notes and to-dos, and takes proactive actions.

- **Maker:** DCWU, Inc.
- **Catalogue type:** Hosted agent
- **Website:** https://www.trymartin.com
- **Source code:** unknown — no public repository recorded
- **Also known as:** Try Martin
- **Evidence:** 9 sources, checked 2026-10-22 to 2026-10-22
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/martin/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/martin.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available | documented | 2 |
| Price & usage costs | From US$21/mo billed yearly | documented | 2 |
| Included in another plan | Standalone Martin subscription | documented | 2 |
| Where it runs | Provider cloud | documented | 1 |
| Open source & license | unknown | unknown | — |
| Controls your computer | No | limited | 3 |
| Its own computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Works while your computer is off | unknown | unknown | — |
| If the vendor stops | Stops | limited | 1 |
| Remote shut-off | unknown | unknown | — |
| What you keep | unknown | unknown | — |
| Company type | Startup | documented | 8 |
| Launch date | Aug 17, 2023 | documented | 8 |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Startup [8]
- **Company stage** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Disclosed funding** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Launch date** `documented` — Aug 17, 2023 · Public launch · iOS app first released [8]

**Launch history**

- 2023-08-17 · Public launch · iOS app first released [8]

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Reached by text, phone call or email rather than a new interface, with wake-up calls and copy-on-an-email scheduling [1, 4]
- **Computer use** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Acts through connected accounts; control of a computer is not described [3]
- **Controls your computer** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Nothing is described as running on the user's computer; Martin acts through connected accounts. [3]
- **Its own computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Works while your computer is off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Browser control** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Voice & ambient listening** `documented` — Phone calls in both directions, including spoken wake-up calls [1, 4]
- **Background work & triggers** `documented` — Background tasks including wake-up calls and reminders; paid tiers are sold on how many proactive actions they allow [2, 4, 5]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — No native desktop app is described [1]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `documented` — Native iPhone and iPad app on the App Store [8]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Text messages, phone calls, email, the iOS app and a web app [1, 8]
- **Messaging services** `documented` — SMS, Slack, Email [1, 3, 7]
- **Native hardware** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Developer API** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Plans distinguish basic from most advanced AI models; the providers are not named [2]
- **Bring your own model** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Fully managed; personal model keys are not described [2]
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Standalone Martin subscription [2]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — Basic US$21/month billed yearly or US$35 monthly; Pro US$30/month billed yearly or US$49 monthly, with seven days free [2]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Provider-hosted, so the service depends on the vendor's servers. The company has not published what happens if it shuts down. [1]
- **Remote shut-off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What you keep** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Provider-hosted service reached through messaging, calls and apps [1]
- **Passwords & credentials** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Approval before actions** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What it remembers** `documented` — Keeps notes and to-dos as a productivity suite alongside calendar and inbox context [1, 3]
- **Edit & export your data** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Privacy & isolation** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Open sign-up with a seven-day free trial [2]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Basic | US$21/month billed yearly | US$35/month billed monthly; seven days free | Basic AI models; Two tasks at a time | Limited proactive actions | 2 |
| Pro | US$30/month billed yearly | US$49/month billed monthly; seven days free | Most advanced AI models; Unlimited proactive actions; Unlimited custom tasks | Business pricing is listed separately | 2 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | Web application at app.trymartin.com. | 1 |
| iOS | Available | Martin: Personal Assistant on the App Store, supporting iPhone and iPad. | 8 |

## Messaging services

| Service | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| SMS | Available | Text Martin to give it instructions. | 1 |
| Slack | Available | Slack is listed among Martin's integrations. | 3 |
| Email | Available | Email Martin, or copy it on an email to schedule. | 1, 7 |

## Hardware

`unknown` — no dedicated hardware is established by the reviewed sources.

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** https://www.trymartin.com/blog — Product blog, dated, with nothing published since April 2025 (checked 2026-10-22)

- 2025-04-23 · Release · [Apps, Notes, v2 to-dos and more languages](https://www.trymartin.com/blog/introducing-martin-apps) · Martin — Adds an apps surface, Notes, a rebuilt to-do system and more supported languages. The product blog has published nothing since.

## Sources

1. [Martin official website](https://www.trymartin.com/) — checked 2026-10-22
2. [Martin pricing](https://www.trymartin.com/pricing) — checked 2026-10-22
3. [Martin documentation](https://docs.trymartin.com/) — checked 2026-10-22
4. [Martin wake-up calls](https://docs.trymartin.com/background-tasks/wake-up-calls) — checked 2026-10-22
5. [Martin reminders](https://docs.trymartin.com/capabilities/reminders) — checked 2026-10-22
6. [Martin calendar integration](https://docs.trymartin.com/integrations/calendar) — checked 2026-10-22
7. [Martin inbox integration](https://docs.trymartin.com/integrations/inbox) — checked 2026-10-22
8. [Martin on the App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/martin/id6453473083) — checked 2026-10-22
9. [Martin privacy policy](https://info.trymartin.com/privacy) — checked 2026-10-22
