# Letta

> An open-source stateful agent harness whose memory is a git-backed filesystem you can read, edit and version, runnable on your own machine or on Letta Cloud.

- **Maker:** Letta
- **Catalogue type:** Self-hosted runtime
- **Website:** https://www.letta.com
- **Source code:** https://github.com/letta-ai/letta-code
- **Also known as:** MemGPT, Letta Code
- **Evidence:** 16 sources, checked 2026-10-22 to 2026-10-22
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/letta/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/letta.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available | documented | 3, 10 |
| Price & usage costs | Free; Cloud from US$20/mo | documented | 10 |
| Included in another plan | Open-source harness, optionally with a Letta Cloud subscription | documented | 10 |
| Where it runs | Self-hosted or Letta Cloud | documented | 3 |
| Open source & license | Apache-2.0 | documented | 14 |
| Controls your computer | Limited | documented | 9 |
| Its own computer | Cloud | documented | 9 |
| Works while your computer is off | Partly | limited | 6 |
| If the vendor stops | Keeps working | documented | 3, 14 |
| Remote shut-off | Not possible | documented | 3 |
| What you keep | Self-serve | documented | 4 |
| Company type | Research group | documented | 1 |
| Launch date | Oct 26, 2023 | documented | 14 |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Research group [1]
- **Company stage** `documented` — AI research lab in San Francisco, founded by the creators of MemGPT at UC Berkeley [1]
- **Disclosed funding** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Launch date** `documented` — Oct 26, 2023 · Open-source release · First release as MemGPT [14]

**Launch history**

- 2023-10-26 · Open-source release · First release as MemGPT [14]
- 2024-09-23 · Major update · Renamed from MemGPT to Letta [15]
- 2025-12-16 · Major update · Letta Code, the memory-first agent harness [16]

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Memory is MemFS, a git-backed filesystem of Markdown files the agent and the user can both inspect and edit, with every change committed [4, 5]
- **Computer use** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — A computer in Letta is an execution environment with a shell and filesystem, on the current machine, a cloud sandbox, or a machine you bring; it is not graphical desktop control [9]
- **Controls your computer** `documented` — Runs a shell and filesystem on the current machine, which is execution rather than graphical desktop control. [9]
- **Its own computer** `documented` — Cloud sandboxes, or a machine you bring, with agents able to move between them. [9]
- **Works while your computer is off** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Cloud schedules run on a server-side timer; local schedules run only while a Letta session is open on that computer. [6]
- **Browser control** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — A built-in browser-use skill appears in the changelog, but there is no dedicated documentation page for it; web search and page fetching are documented for cloud agents [13]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Background work & triggers** `documented` — Schedules run one-off or recurring prompts on cron, server-side on Cloud and only while a session is open locally; sleep-time subagents review recent conversations and consolidate memory in the background [5, 6]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `documented` — No native desktop app; Letta Desktop is the web app installed as a progressive web app, and the former Electron app was retired in October 2026 [12]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `documented` — No official iOS or Android app; the documentation recommends the mobile web app [13]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Web app, desktop PWA and a command-line interface, plus messaging channels on the local backend [8, 12]
- **Messaging services** `documented` — WhatsApp, Telegram, Signal, Slack, Discord [8]
- **Native hardware** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Developer API** `documented` — Public REST API at api.letta.com for Cloud agents, a TypeScript agent SDK, generated client SDKs, and a hosted MCP server [11, 13]

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — Model-agnostic across roughly 35 providers including Anthropic, OpenAI, Gemini, Bedrock, Mistral, DeepSeek and Groq, with local inference through Ollama, LM Studio and llama.cpp; the model can be changed mid-conversation [7]
- **Bring your own model** `documented` — Bring your own API keys on every plan, including the free tier [7, 10]
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Open-source harness, optionally with a Letta Cloud subscription [10]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — Free software. Letta Cloud is free for three agents, Pro US$20/month, an API plan at US$20/month plus usage, Teams Pro US$20/seat/month and custom Enterprise pricing [10]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `documented` — Apache-2.0 software that runs entirely on your own machine with no account required, so it keeps running if the company stops. [3, 14]
- **Remote shut-off** `documented` — Run locally, there is no account requirement or activation check described. [3]
- **What you keep** `documented` — Memory is a git repository on your own disk with full history; the documentation notes you are responsible for backing it up. [4]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `documented` — Apache-2.0 [14]
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Self-hosted locally or by Docker, or hosted on Letta Cloud; run locally, all agent state stays on the device and no account is required [3]
- **Passwords & credentials** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Approval before actions** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What it remembers** `documented` — A context repository of Markdown files holding persona, facts about the user, project facts, workflow rules and agent skills; files at the root load every turn and subdirectories load on demand [4, 5]
- **Edit & export your data** `documented` — Memory is a real git repository with full version history; local agents commit on the user's own machine and cloud agents can sync to GitHub [4]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Run locally, agent state including messages, memory and provider connections stays on the device; Enterprise adds role-based access control and SSO [3, 10]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Open source and installable from npm; Letta Cloud has open sign-up with a free tier [3, 10]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Free | US$0 | Free tier on Letta Cloud | Three stateful agents; 5 MiB of storage per memory repository; Bring your own API keys | Limited use of Letta Auto | 10 |
| Pro | US$20/month | Monthly | Up to 20 stateful agents; 50 MiB per memory repository; Weekly and monthly Letta Auto quota | Pay-as-you-go overage | 10 |
| API | US$20/month | Monthly plus usage | Unlimited agents; API key authentication | US$0.10 per active agent per month; US$0.00015 per second of tool execution | 10 |
| Teams Pro | US$20/user/month | Per seat, monthly | Shared agents with access control; Weekly and monthly Letta Auto quota | Priced per seat | 10 |
| Enterprise | Custom | Priced on request | Role-based access control; SAML and OIDC single sign-on; Increased quotas and dedicated support | Volume-based pricing on request | 10 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | Web app at chat.letta.com, installable as a progressive web app. | 12 |

## Messaging services

| Service | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| WhatsApp | Available | Self-hosted messaging channel on the local backend. | 8 |
| Telegram | Available | Self-hosted messaging channel on the local backend. | 8 |
| Signal | Available | Self-hosted messaging channel on the local backend. | 8 |
| Slack | Available | A self-hosted channel, and a first-party Slack integration for Cloud agents. | 8 |
| Discord | Available | Self-hosted messaging channel on the local backend. | 8 |

## Hardware

`unknown` — no dedicated hardware is established by the reviewed sources.

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** unknown — no update source has been recorded for this agent.

- 2026-10-22 · Release · [Letta v0.34.21](https://github.com/letta-ai/letta-code/releases/tag/v0.34.21) · Letta — Carries MCP originator tokens through to tool calls for user-scoped connections, and sends the selected reasoning effort for xAI model handles.

## Sources

1. [Letta official website](https://www.letta.com/) — checked 2026-10-22
2. [Letta documentation](https://docs.letta.com/) — checked 2026-10-22
3. [Letta self-hosting](https://docs.letta.com/self-hosting) — checked 2026-10-22
4. [Letta MemFS memory filesystem](https://docs.letta.com/concepts/memfs) — checked 2026-10-22
5. [Letta memory configuration](https://docs.letta.com/configuration/memory) — checked 2026-10-22
6. [Letta schedules](https://docs.letta.com/configuration/schedules) — checked 2026-10-22
7. [Letta model providers](https://docs.letta.com/configuration/models) — checked 2026-10-22
8. [Letta messaging channels](https://docs.letta.com/self-hosting/channels) — checked 2026-10-22
9. [Letta computers and execution environments](https://docs.letta.com/platform/computers) — checked 2026-10-22
10. [Letta pricing](https://docs.letta.com/pricing) — checked 2026-10-22
11. [Letta API reference](https://docs.letta.com/api/resources/agents) — checked 2026-10-22
12. [Letta Desktop](https://docs.letta.com/platform/letta-desktop) — checked 2026-10-22
13. [Letta frequently asked questions](https://docs.letta.com/reference/faq) — checked 2026-10-22
14. [Letta Code repository](https://github.com/letta-ai/letta-code) — checked 2026-10-22
15. [Announcing Letta](https://www.letta.com/blog/announcing-letta) — checked 2026-10-22
16. [Letta Code](https://www.letta.com/blog/letta-code) — checked 2026-10-22
