# OpenAI Dots

> An always-on personal agent with its own cloud computer and context carried between conversations.

- **Maker:** OpenAI
- **Catalogue type:** Hosted agent
- **Website:** https://openai.com/index/introducing-dots/
- **Source code:** unknown — no public repository recorded
- **Also known as:** Dot, OpenAI Dot, ChatGPT dots
- **Evidence:** 8 sources, checked 2026-10-21 to 2026-10-22
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/dots/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/dots.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available · rolling out, paid plan, some regions | documented | 2 |
| Price & usage costs | ChatGPT Pro $100/mo | documented | 2, 4, 5 |
| Included in another plan | ChatGPT Pro / Business Premium | limited | 2 |
| Where it runs | Cloud + your PC | documented | 1 |
| Open source & license | unknown | unknown | — |
| Controls your computer | Limited | limited | 1 |
| Its own computer | Cloud | documented | 1 |
| Works while your computer is off | unknown | unknown | — |
| If the vendor stops | Stops | limited | 1 |
| Remote shut-off | unknown | unknown | — |
| What you keep | Self-serve | documented | 7, 8 |
| Company type | Major AI lab | documented | 6 |
| Launch date | Sep 29, 2026 | documented | 1 |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Major AI lab [6]
- **Company stage** `documented` — Private [6]
- **Disclosed funding** `documented` — US$122B · Funding round · Mar 31, 2026 · Committed capital [6]
- **Launch date** `documented` — Sep 29, 2026 · Public launch [1]

**Launch history**

- 2026-09-29 · Public launch [1]

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Shares ChatGPT context and connected apps; can delegate work into Codex cloud environments. [2, 3]
- **Computer use** `documented` — Own cloud computer, plus optional access to a connected personal computer. [1]
- **Controls your computer** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — An optional connection to a personal computer, alongside the cloud machine it normally works on. [1]
- **Its own computer** `documented` — Its own cloud computer. Whether you can watch or take over its screen is not specified. [1]
- **Works while your computer is off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Browser control** `documented` — Operates its cloud browser; you can inspect the computer and take over. [1, 2]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Voice calls with your dot; it cannot initiate calls at launch. [1, 2]
- **Background work & triggers** `documented` — Ongoing and scheduled work [2]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Available in the ChatGPT desktop app, including Windows, and desktop web; supported OS details beyond Windows are not listed in the dots setup guide. [2]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `documented` — Available inside ChatGPT for iOS and Android; mobile web is unsupported. [2]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — ChatGPT, Slack, Teams [1]
- **Messaging services** `documented` — Slack, Microsoft Teams [1]
- **Native hardware** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Developer API** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — GPT-6 Astra at launch [1]
- **Bring your own model** `documented` — GPT-6 Astra is supplied by the service; BYO model keys are not listed for dots. [1]
- **Included in another plan** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — First dot included in ChatGPT Pro or Business Premium; Enterprise beta requires administrator enablement. [2]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — First dot included in ChatGPT Pro 100, 200 or 500 (US$100/200/500 per month) or Business Premium (US$125/user/month; US$100/user/month annually). Deeper-work allowances apply. [2, 4, 5]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Provider-hosted, so the service depends on the vendor's servers. The company has not published what happens if it shuts down. [1]
- **Remote shut-off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What you keep** `documented` — ChatGPT history and data export from the account's data controls. Business, Enterprise and Healthcare workspaces have no self-service export. Deleted data is removed within 30 days. [7, 8]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Managed cloud computer; optional connected devices [1]
- **Passwords & credentials** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Saved passwords and secure sign-in flows keep credentials out of the model; a standalone password vault is not specified. [1, 3]
- **Approval before actions** `documented` — Action review follows custom rules; purchases need approval and some authentication steps stay manual. [3]
- **What it remembers** `documented` — ChatGPT memory and ongoing context [2]
- **Edit & export your data** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Deleting the dot clears its context; individual dot memories cannot currently be viewed or edited. [3]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Custom Rules and action review; proactive research is read-only [1]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Gradual rollout; plan and regional restrictions [2]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| ChatGPT Pro 100 | US$100/month | Monthly | First dot; ChatGPT Pro tools and Codex | Pro rollout excludes EEA, Switzerland and UK; Deeper-work allowance; expanded launch limits | 2, 4 |
| ChatGPT Pro 200 | US$200/month | Monthly | First dot; more included Pro usage than Pro 100 | New subscriptions have a reduced allowance; Eligible existing allowance lasts through October 29, 2026 | 2, 4 |
| ChatGPT Pro 500 | US$500/month | Monthly | First dot; highest Pro allowance; Ultrafast service tier in ChatGPT Work and Codex | Ultrafast consumes the included allowance faster | 2, 4 |
| ChatGPT Business Premium | US$125/user/month | Monthly, or US$100/user/month billed annually | First dot and a managed workspace; Five times Standard seat usage | Subject to workspace controls; Deeper-work allowance; expanded launch limits | 2, 5 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | Available in the ChatGPT desktop app, including Windows, and desktop web; supported OS details beyond Windows are not listed in the dots setup guide. | 2 |
| Windows | Available | Available in the ChatGPT desktop app, including Windows, and desktop web; supported OS details beyond Windows are not listed in the dots setup guide. | 2 |
| iOS | Available | Available inside ChatGPT for iOS and Android; mobile web is unsupported. | 2 |
| Android | Available | Available inside ChatGPT for iOS and Android; mobile web is unsupported. | 2 |

## Messaging services

| Service | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Slack | Available | ChatGPT, Slack, Teams | 1 |
| Microsoft Teams | Available | ChatGPT, Slack, Teams | 1 |

## Hardware

`unknown` — no dedicated hardware is established by the reviewed sources.

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

Provider: Feedback Bench (https://feedbackbench.com/); data: https://feedbackbench.com/data/personal.json. Window 2026-08-31 to 2026-10-18; checked 2026-10-21.
Sample: 14581 posts, 1417 positive and 1877 negative rated user-weeks — 43% positive.
That percentage is the raw positive share of rated user-weeks, not the provider's composite score or ranking.
Channels: Reddit, X, YouTube. Build 1.1, built 2026-10-19.

| Area | Praise | Complaint | Positive share | Area method |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Getting tasks done | 548 | 391 | 58.4% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/act.md |
| Talking to the agent | 232 | 502 | 31.6% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/ask.md |
| Running on its own | 447 | 253 | 63.9% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/auto.md |
| Paying for the agent | 143 | 339 | 29.7% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/billing.md |
| Connecting accounts, sites and devices | 108 | 254 | 29.8% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/connect.md |
| Staying in control | 96 | 220 | 30.4% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/control.md |
| Getting access and set up | 49 | 228 | 17.7% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/access.md |
| Dealing with the vendor | 13 | 192 | 6.3% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/vendor.md |
| Trusting it with data and safety | 14 | 98 | 12.5% | https://feedbackbench.com/criteria/trust.md |

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** unknown — no update source has been recorded for this agent.

- 2026-09-29 · Launch · [OpenAI introduces Dots](https://openai.com/index/introducing-dots/) · OpenAI — The launch introduces ongoing personal agents with cloud computers, connected apps, and user-defined permissions.

## Sources

1. [Introducing dots · OpenAI](https://openai.com/index/introducing-dots/) — checked 2026-10-21
2. [Dots eligible plans and launch limits](https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001530-getting-started-with-your-dot) — checked 2026-10-21
3. [Dots privacy, security, and safety FAQs](https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001529-dots-privacy-security-and-safety-faqs) — checked 2026-10-21
4. [ChatGPT Pro prices and allowances](https://help.openai.com/en/articles/9793128-about-chatgpt-pro-tiers) — checked 2026-10-21
5. [ChatGPT Business Premium seat pricing](https://help.openai.com/en/articles/11391654-chatgpt-business-release-notes) — checked 2026-10-21
6. [OpenAI closes its March 2026 funding round](https://openai.com/index/accelerating-the-next-phase-ai/) — checked 2026-10-21
7. [OpenAI privacy policy](https://openai.com/policies/row-privacy-policy/) — checked 2026-10-22
8. [Exporting your ChatGPT data](https://help.openai.com/en/articles/7260999) — checked 2026-10-22
