# Codex

> OpenAI’s coding agent across desktop, terminal, IDE, cloud, and iOS, with local computer use, scheduled tasks, and optional local models.

- **Maker:** OpenAI
- **Catalogue type:** Coding tool (adjacent)
- **Website:** https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/codex/cli
- **Source code:** https://github.com/openai/codex
- **Also known as:** unknown — no other names recorded
- **Evidence:** 19 sources, checked 2026-10-21 to 2026-10-21
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/codex/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/codex.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available · some regions, paid plan | limited | 10, 12, 13 |
| Price & usage costs | From $20/mo plan; API option | documented | 8, 14 |
| Included in another plan | ChatGPT Plus / Pro / business plans | documented | 8, 14 |
| Where it runs | Local or managed cloud | documented | 3, 7, 13 |
| Open source & license | Open-source CLI; hosted app separate | limited | 1 |
| Controls your computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Its own computer | unknown | unknown | — |
| Works while your computer is off | unknown | unknown | — |
| If the vendor stops | unknown | unknown | — |
| Remote shut-off | unknown | unknown | — |
| What you keep | unknown | unknown | — |
| Company type | Major AI lab | documented | 18 |
| Launch date | Apr 16, 2025 | documented | 19 |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Major AI lab [18]
- **Company stage** `documented` — Private [18]
- **Disclosed funding** `documented` — US$122B · Funding round · Mar 31, 2026 · Committed capital [18]
- **Launch date** `documented` — Apr 16, 2025 · Open-source release · Codex CLI [19]

**Launch history**

- 2025-04-16 · Open-source release · Codex CLI [19]

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Local code work and cloud delegation, with an open CLI that supports custom or local model providers. [1, 3, 7]
- **Computer use** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Local GUI control on macOS and Windows through the desktop app. Windows tasks use the foreground; Linux computer use is not available in the preview. [5, 10]
- **Controls your computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Its own computer** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Works while your computer is off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Browser control** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Built-in desktop browser plus browser-extension control of existing tabs; built-in browser is not available in CLI or IDE. [11]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `documented` — Desktop voice dictation turns speech into an editable prompt; ambient listening is not specified. [15]
- **Background work & triggers** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Desktop recurring tasks; local project tasks need the computer on and app running. [17]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `documented` — Native ChatGPT app with Codex on macOS, Windows, and Linux preview. [5, 12]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Codex in ChatGPT for iOS can run tasks in cloud environments or connected computers. Android Codex support is not specified in the current mobile guide. [13]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Desktop, terminal, IDE, web cloud tasks, and iOS. [3, 12, 13]
- **Messaging services** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Native hardware** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Developer API** `documented` — Codex SDK and app-server interface provide programmatic local-agent control. [6]

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — OpenAI models, custom providers, or local models via Ollama and LM Studio. [7]
- **Bring your own model** `documented` — ChatGPT allowance or API credentials; configurable providers and local Ollama / LM Studio models. [7, 8]
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Included usage with ChatGPT Plus, Pro, and eligible business plans; API-key usage billed separately. [8, 14]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — ChatGPT Plus starts at $20/month with Codex usage; Pro and business plans provide other allowances. API-key use is metered separately. [8, 14]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Remote shut-off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What you keep** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — CLI is Apache-2.0 open source. That license does not describe the hosted product or desktop app. [1]
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Local desktop / CLI / IDE work or managed cloud tasks. The open CLI can use self-hosted model endpoints; hosted Codex is a separate service. [3, 7, 13]
- **Passwords & credentials** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Approval before actions** `documented` — Configurable sandbox and action approvals, with optional automatic review. [9]
- **What it remembers** `documented` — Optional local memory across chats, stored on the connected machine; separate from ChatGPT account memory. [16]
- **Edit & export your data** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Privacy & isolation** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Availability & access** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Public desktop, CLI, IDE, cloud, and iOS surfaces; specific tools depend on region, plan, and workspace. [10, 12, 13]

## Plans

unknown — no published plan or price list is recorded. See the Price & usage costs claim above.

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | Desktop, terminal, IDE, web cloud tasks, and iOS. | 3, 12, 13 |
| macOS | Available | Native ChatGPT app with Codex on macOS, Windows, and Linux preview. | 5, 12 |
| Windows | Available | Native ChatGPT app with Codex on macOS, Windows, and Linux preview. | 5, 12 |
| Linux | Preview | Native ChatGPT app with Codex on macOS, Windows, and Linux preview. | 5, 12 |
| iOS | Available | Codex in ChatGPT for iOS can run tasks in cloud environments or connected computers. Android Codex support is not specified in the current mobile guide. | 13 |

## Messaging services

unknown — no messaging service is recorded for this agent.

## Hardware

`unknown` — no dedicated hardware is established by the reviewed sources.

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** unknown — no update source has been recorded for this agent.

No dated catalogue updates mention this agent yet.

## Sources

1. [Codex official repository](https://github.com/openai/codex) — checked 2026-10-21
2. [ChatGPT and Codex glossary](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/glossary) — checked 2026-10-21
3. [Codex CLI](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/codex/cli) — checked 2026-10-21
4. [Remote connections](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/remote-connections) — checked 2026-10-21
5. [ChatGPT and Codex updates](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/whats-new) — checked 2026-10-21
6. [Codex SDK](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/codex-sdk) — checked 2026-10-21
7. [Custom and local model providers](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/config-file/config-advanced) — checked 2026-10-21
8. [Codex authentication](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/auth) — checked 2026-10-21
9. [Agent approvals and security](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/agent-approvals-security) — checked 2026-10-21
10. [Computer Use in ChatGPT Work and Codex](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/computer-use) — checked 2026-10-21
11. [Browser in ChatGPT Work and Codex](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/browser) — checked 2026-10-21
12. [ChatGPT desktop app](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/app) — checked 2026-10-21
13. [Codex on mobile](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/mobile) — checked 2026-10-21
14. [ChatGPT and Codex pricing](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing) — checked 2026-10-21
15. [Voice dictation in the desktop app](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/prompting) — checked 2026-10-21
16. [Local Codex memories](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/customization/memories) — checked 2026-10-21
17. [Scheduled tasks](https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/automations) — checked 2026-10-21
18. [OpenAI closes its March 2026 funding round](https://openai.com/index/accelerating-the-next-phase-ai/) — checked 2026-10-21
19. [OpenAI introduces Codex CLI](https://openai.com/index/introducing-o3-and-o4-mini/) — checked 2026-10-21
