# Alexa+

> Amazon's generative Alexa, with remembered personal details, routines and agentic web tasks across Echo devices, the Alexa app and the web.

- **Maker:** Amazon
- **Catalogue type:** Hosted agent
- **Website:** https://www.amazon.com/alexaplus
- **Source code:** unknown — no public repository recorded
- **Also known as:** Alexa Plus, Amazon Alexa
- **Evidence:** 6 sources, checked 2026-10-22 to 2026-10-22
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/alexa-plus/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/alexa-plus.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available · some regions | documented | 3 |
| Price & usage costs | Free with Prime; US$19.99/mo | documented | 2, 3 |
| Included in another plan | Included with Prime | documented | 3 |
| Where it runs | Provider cloud | documented | 1, 3 |
| Open source & license | unknown | unknown | — |
| Controls your computer | No | documented | 2 |
| Its own computer | Cloud · no remote view | documented | 3 |
| Works while your computer is off | Keeps working | limited | 3 |
| If the vendor stops | Stops | limited | 3 |
| Remote shut-off | unknown | unknown | — |
| What you keep | On request | documented | 6 |
| Company type | Public company | documented | 1 |
| Launch date | Feb 26, 2025 | documented | 2 |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Public company [1]
- **Company stage** `documented` — Public company · NASDAQ: AMZN [1]
- **Disclosed funding** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Launch date** `documented` — Feb 26, 2025 · Announcement · Announced at Amazon's Devices and Services event [2]

**Launch history**

- 2025-02-26 · Announcement · Announced at Amazon's Devices and Services event [2]
- 2026 · Public launch · General availability in the US and Canada, free for Prime [3]

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — Reaches Amazon's own services, including Ring footage and AI video search, Prime Video, Amazon Music and Photos, alongside shopping and smart home [3, 4]
- **Computer use** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Navigates the internet in a self-directed way to complete tasks behind the scenes; no control of the user's own device is described [2]
- **Controls your computer** `documented` — Nothing runs on the user's computer; Alexa+ acts from Amazon's side and on Echo hardware. [2]
- **Its own computer** `documented` — Runs in Amazon's cloud. No remote view of a machine of its own is offered. [3]
- **Works while your computer is off** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Runs on Amazon's cloud and Echo hardware rather than the user's computer, so tasks do not depend on a personal device being on. [3]
- **Browser control** `documented` — Navigates the web on the user's behalf from Amazon's side [2]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `documented` — Voice is the primary interface, across Echo devices, Echo Show, Fire TV and the Alexa app [1]
- **Background work & triggers** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Routines, reminders and calendar management, with agentic tasks completed behind the scenes; a user-facing scheduler for autonomous runs is not described [1, 2]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `documented` — No native desktop app; the web experience is at Alexa.com [1]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `documented` — Alexa apps for iPhone and Android [1]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Echo devices, Echo Show, Echo Hub, Fire TV, the Alexa app and Alexa.com [1]
- **Messaging services** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Native hardware** `documented` — Runs on Echo speakers, Echo Show, Echo Hub and Fire TV, and is also reachable from the Alexa app and Alexa.com without buying hardware. [1, 3]
- **Developer API** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — Amazon Nova and Anthropic models run in Amazon's cloud [3]
- **Bring your own model** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Fully managed; personal model keys are not described [3]
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Included with Prime at no extra cost; otherwise a standalone subscription [3]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — US$19.99 a month, free for Prime members across the whole household; non-Prime customers can also use a limited free text chat on Alexa.com and in the app [2, 3]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Provider-hosted and tied to Amazon's services and devices. The company has not published what happens if it is discontinued. [3]
- **Remote shut-off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What you keep** `documented` — Amazon's general request-your-personal-information flow returns account data by download link; no self-serve export of remembered items is described. [6]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Amazon's cloud, reached through Echo devices, the app and the web [1, 3]
- **Passwords & credentials** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Approval before actions** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **What it remembers** `documented` — Remember This stores details on request; remembered items are reviewable under Alexa Privacy, and Amazon notes they may be accessible to anyone using the household's devices [5]
- **Edit & export your data** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Amazon's general personal-information request covers account data; a dedicated export of remembered items is not described [6]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Voice recordings, transcripts and typed requests can be reviewed and deleted in Alexa Privacy settings [5]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Generally available in the United States and Canada, with early access in Brazil, the United Kingdom, Mexico, Italy, Spain, Germany, Austria and France [3]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Included with Prime | US$0 | Included in a Prime membership | Full Alexa+ across every Alexa-enabled device, Alexa.com and the app; Covers the whole household | Requires a Prime membership | 3 |
| Alexa+ | US$19.99/month | Monthly, for customers without Prime | Full Alexa+ experience across devices, web and the app | A limited free text chat is available without paying | 2, 3 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | Alexa.com, plus a limited free text chat for customers without Prime. | 3 |
| iOS | Available | Alexa app for iPhone. | 1 |
| Android | Available | Alexa app for Android. | 1 |

## Messaging services

unknown — no messaging service is recorded for this agent.

## Hardware

`optional` Optional hardware — **Echo devices**: Runs on Echo speakers, Echo Show, Echo Hub and Fire TV, and is also reachable from the Alexa app and Alexa.com without buying hardware. [1, 3]

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** https://www.aboutamazon.com — No dedicated changelog; updates appear as dated newsroom posts (checked 2026-10-22)

- 2026-10-08 · Release · [Amazon Alexa Tablets with Alexa+ built in](https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/devices/new-amazon-alexa-tablets-alexa-plus) · Amazon — Three tablets at 8, 11 and 12 inches ship with Alexa+ and on-screen intelligence built in, from US$229.99.
- 2026-09-30 · Release · [Alexa+ comes to Fire TV with conversational search and a hub](https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/devices/alexa-plus-fire-tv-hub-mobile-app-updates) · Amazon — Adds complex conversational search on Fire TV and a dedicated Alexa+ hub carrying history across devices.
- 2026-08-19 · Availability change · [Alexa+ free on Fire TV for all US customers](https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/devices/alexa-plus-fire-tv-free-ai) · Amazon — Eligible Fire TV devices in the United States are upgraded to Alexa+ with no subscription and no Prime requirement.

## Sources

1. [Alexa+ overview](https://www.aboutamazon.com/what-we-do/devices-services/alexa-plus) — checked 2026-10-22
2. [Amazon introduces the next generation of Alexa](https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/devices/new-alexa-generative-artificial-intelligence) — checked 2026-10-22
3. [Alexa+ is available free for Prime members](https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/devices/alexa-plus-available-free-prime-members-us) — checked 2026-10-22
4. [Alexa+ and Ring doorbell greetings](https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/devices/alexa-ring-doorbell-ai-greetings) — checked 2026-10-22
5. [Alexa privacy settings](https://www.amazon.com/alexaprivacysettings) — checked 2026-10-22
6. [Request your personal information from Amazon](https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=TP1zlemejtTn6pwYKS) — checked 2026-10-22
