# Agent Zero

> An agent framework that gives the agent its own Dockerised Linux computer with a terminal, desktop and browser, and can also bridge to the machine you run it on.

- **Maker:** Agent Zero, s.r.o.
- **Catalogue type:** Self-hosted runtime
- **Website:** https://agent-zero.ai
- **Source code:** https://github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero
- **Also known as:** AgentZero, A0
- **Evidence:** 12 sources, checked 2026-10-22 to 2026-10-22
- **Profile:** https://agentlist.wiki/agent/agent-zero/
- **This record:** https://agentlist.wiki/agents/agent-zero.md

## Key facts

| Field | Value | Status | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Availability & access | Available | documented | 4 |
| Price & usage costs | Free; you pay models | documented | 1, 2 |
| Included in another plan | Open-source software with no hosted tier | documented | 1 |
| Where it runs | Self-hosted | documented | 4 |
| Open source & license | MIT | documented | 3 |
| Controls your computer | Yes · Mac, Windows, Linux | documented | 9 |
| Its own computer | Own hardware · Watch and take over | documented | 7, 8 |
| Works while your computer is off | unknown | unknown | — |
| If the vendor stops | Keeps working | documented | 3, 4 |
| Remote shut-off | Not possible | documented | 4 |
| What you keep | Partial | limited | 2, 5 |
| Company type | Independent project | documented | 1, 3 |
| Launch date | Jun 26, 2024 | documented | 12 |

Status marks — `documented`: Supported by official documentation; not independently tested. `limited`: Only partial or conditional support established. `unknown`: Not established by reviewed sources; does not mean unsupported.

## Company & launch

*Who makes it and when it arrived. Company type and funding are context, not a quality score: an open-source project and a public company carry different risks, not better or worse ones.*

- **Company type** `documented` — Independent project [1, 3]
- **Company stage** `documented` — Agent Zero, s.r.o., Brno, Czech Republic [1, 3]
- **Disclosed funding** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Launch date** `documented` — Jun 26, 2024 · Open-source release · First public release [12]

**Launch history**

- 2024-06-26 · Open-source release · First public release [12]

## What it can do

*What this agent can actually operate — a machine of its own, yours, or neither. Computer control is three separate questions, and most products answer only some of them.*

- **What stands out** `documented` — The agent gets its own Linux computer inside Docker, with a terminal, an XFCE desktop and a browser it can watch and drive, plus Time Travel snapshots you can revert [2, 8]
- **Computer use** `documented` — Two separate scopes: an XFCE desktop inside its own Docker container, and the A0 CLI Connector bridging to the host's files, shell and browser [8, 9]
- **Controls your computer** `documented` — The A0 CLI Connector bridges the agent to the host's files, shell and browser. [9]
- **Its own computer** `documented` — An XFCE Linux desktop inside its Docker container, which the user can watch and drive in a canvas panel. [7, 8]
- **Works while your computer is off** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Browser control** `documented` — A built-in browser in its container, observable in a canvas panel; the CLI connector can also reach the host browser [7, 9]
- **Voice & ambient listening** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Background work & triggers** `documented` — Tasks run scheduled, planned or ad hoc, scoped to a project, with a notification system [6]

## Apps & access

*Where you reach it and on what. A messaging integration is not a native app, so the two are tracked apart; an app listed here is a real first-party client.*

- **Native desktop apps** `documented` — The A0 Launcher installs on macOS, Linux and Windows, on x86 and ARM; the agent interface itself is web [4]
- **iPhone & Android apps** `documented` — No mobile app [2]
- **Web & messaging** `documented` — Web interface, the A0 Launcher desktop app and a command-line interface [2, 4]
- **Messaging services** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Native hardware** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Developer API** `documented` — HTTP API with a key from settings, covering messaging, logs, chat reset and files, plus MCP and A2A [11]

## Models & plans

*What you pay and what runs underneath. Where an agent is bundled into a larger subscription, the price shown is that subscription's — there is no separate fee for the agent.*

- **Models & providers** `documented` — Model presets for main, utility and embedding roles with your own provider keys; an OpenAI Codex plan connects over OAuth [10]
- **Bring your own model** `documented` — Bring your own provider keys; local models are documented for tool use [10]
- **Included in another plan** `documented` — Open-source software with no hosted tier [1]
- **Price & usage costs** `documented` — Free software; no hosted service or paid tier is published [1, 2]

## Vendor lock-in

*How hard it is to leave, and what survives if the company does. Almost no hosted vendor publishes a shutdown commitment, so an answer here is usually read from the architecture rather than from a promise.*

- **If the vendor stops** `documented` — MIT-licensed software you run yourself in Docker or from a desktop installer, so it keeps running if the company stops. [3, 4]
- **Remote shut-off** `documented` — Runs on your own hardware with no activation or licence check described. [4]
- **What you keep** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — State lives in a Docker volume you control and memory entries can be copied individually, but no single export command is described. [2, 5]

## Ownership & control

*What it asks before acting, what it remembers, and who else can see it. These are the questions that decide whether you would hand it your inbox.*

- **Open source & license** `documented` — MIT. GitHub reports no assertion because contact lines precede the licence body, but the text is verbatim MIT [3]
- **Where it runs** `documented` — Docker on your own machine, an installer for macOS, Linux and Windows, or a VPS you control [4]
- **Passwords & credentials** `unknown` — Not specified — no reviewed source answers this, which is a gap in the catalogue rather than a "no".
- **Approval before actions** `documented` — Time Travel keeps snapshot history with diffs so a run can be reverted [2]
- **What it remembers** `documented` — Facts, solutions, preferences and imported knowledge persist, with a dashboard to search, read, copy, edit and delete individual entries [5]
- **Edit & export your data** `limited` (partial or conditional only) — Memory entries can be copied individually from the dashboard; all state lives in a Docker volume you control, though no single export command is described [2, 5]
- **Privacy & isolation** `documented` — Tool execution is contained in its own Docker container, separate from the host unless the CLI connector is used [4, 9]
- **Availability & access** `documented` — Open source; install by Docker, a desktop launcher or a script [4]

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Billing | Includes | Limits | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Self-hosted | US$0 | Free software | Full features when self-hosted; Your own provider keys | You provide hosting and model costs | 1, 10 |

## Native apps and web access

*Messaging services are channels, not native apps, and are listed separately below.*

| Platform | Status | Detail | Sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Web | Available | The agent interface runs in a browser against your own instance. | 4 |
| macOS | Available | A0 Launcher desktop installer for macOS, x86 and ARM. | 4 |
| Windows | Available | A0 Launcher desktop installer for Windows. | 4 |
| Linux | Available | A0 Launcher desktop installer for Linux. | 4 |

## Messaging services

unknown — no messaging service is recorded for this agent.

## Hardware

`unknown` — no dedicated hardware is established by the reviewed sources.

## Data reach

*What personal data this agent can reach, and whether anyone else could reach the same source.*

unknown — no first-party or exclusive data reach is recorded for this agent.

## Discussion

unknown — no dated public threads are recorded for this agent.

## Feedback snapshot

unknown — no attributed feedback snapshot is recorded for this agent.

## Updates

**Where updates come from:** unknown — no update source has been recorded for this agent.

- 2026-10-13 · Release · [Agent Zero v2.14](https://github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/releases/tag/v2.14) · Agent Zero — Startup and chat loading are significantly faster, with embedding warm-up overlapping chat restoration for roughly 27% lower median time to first token, alongside upgraded model-routing dependencies.

## Sources

1. [Agent Zero official website](https://agent-zero.ai) — checked 2026-10-22
2. [Agent Zero repository](https://github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero) — checked 2026-10-22
3. [Agent Zero licence](https://github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/blob/main/LICENSE) — checked 2026-10-22
4. [Agent Zero installation](https://github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/blob/main/docs/setup/installation.md) — checked 2026-10-22
5. [Agent Zero memory dashboard](https://github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/blob/main/docs/guides/memory.md) — checked 2026-10-22
6. [Agent Zero tasks and scheduling](https://github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/blob/main/docs/guides/usage.md) — checked 2026-10-22
7. [Agent Zero browser](https://github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/blob/main/docs/guides/browser.md) — checked 2026-10-22
8. [Agent Zero Linux desktop](https://github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/blob/main/docs/guides/desktop.md) — checked 2026-10-22
9. [Agent Zero CLI connector](https://github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/blob/main/docs/guides/a0-cli-connector.md) — checked 2026-10-22
10. [Agent Zero model presets](https://github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/blob/main/docs/guides/model-presets.md) — checked 2026-10-22
11. [Agent Zero connectivity and API](https://github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/blob/main/docs/developer/connectivity.md) — checked 2026-10-22
12. [Agent Zero first release](https://github.com/agent0ai/agent-zero/releases/tag/v0.2) — checked 2026-10-22
